Skip to main content

The Last Dollar Princess by Linda Bennett Pennell: A Book Review

The Last Dollar Princess
Author: Linda Bennett Pennell
Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance
Publisher: Black Rose Writing
Release Date: 2022
Pages: 365
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: It must be said. Scandal follows her family like an ever-faithful hound. No matter how hard they kick it away, it comes slinking around time-after-time. Although her relatives are obsessed with social position and the opinions of others, heiress India Elisabeth Petra De Vries Ledbetter is determined to live life by her own terms, family expectations and society's demands be damned.


     Reared away from the social whirl of Gilded Age New York, India would prefer a life of philanthropy in her native Appalachia, but Mother and Grandmama have far grander plans. They believe Mrs. Astor's old 400 are ready to overlook the past and that an advantageous marriage will cement their place in society once more. In fact, they have already selected the prospective bridegroom. The only problem? No one consulted India.


     With captivating insights into the human spirit and heart, The Last Dollar Princess leads us on a riveting quest for self-determination through the most elegant and glamorous settings of the early 20th century. Perfect for fans of Marie Benedict, Daisy Goodwin, and Julian Fellowes, this sweeping work of historical fiction will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

    

     My Review: India Ledbetter wants to be in charge of her own life and dreams. However, her family has other plans. They plan to marry her to a nobleman. However, India does not want to marry him. India will do anything to stop her family from making their plans come to fruition. Will India marry the English lord or will she forge a path of her own choosing?


I adore India. She is a strong-willed woman. She is very rebellious and is determined to defy her family’s expectations and society. Therefore, it was fun to see how she tries to ruin her family’s plans. I also love her relationship with Charlie, her noble suitor. At first, they were not interested in each other. Later, they become friends and much more. They had a cute ‘will they or won’t they’ romance. Thus, their slow burn romance was the best aspect of the novel. It reminded me of Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Darcy from Pride and Prejudice. Their romance was very sweet, charming, and satisfying. From the moment they met, I kept rooting for the two of them. I was not disappointed.


Overall, this novel is about love, social class, and family. Some characters were extremely annoying, especially India’s ambitious mother and grandmother. However, I did like the other characters. The story was very simple and is a straightforward romance. There were many historical details that I like in this novel, especially the Gilded Age and the coronation of George V. Thus, The Last Dollar Princess is a very captivating, light, and romantic read! For those that love historical romances, this is not a novel that you should miss! I guarantee you will not find this a disappointing read! I recommend this novel for fans of Shaye Muir, Roseanna M. White, and Jen Turano!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,