Blog Tour: Time and Regret by M.K. Tod: A Book Review

     Please join M.K. Tod as she tours the blogosphere with HF Virtual Book Tours, from August 16-31. This is M.K. Tod's second tour with HFVBT. She toured previously for Lies Told in Silence in 2015.


02_Time and Regret

Time and Regret by M.K. Tod

Release Date: August 16, 2016
Lake Union Publishing
eBook & Paperback; 366 Pages

Genre: Historical Fiction
Source: This book was given to me by Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

Add to GR Button


Synopsis: When Grace Hansen finds a box belonging to her beloved grandfather, she has no idea it holds the key to his past—and to long-buried family secrets. In the box are his World War I diaries and a cryptic note addressed to her. Determined to solve her grandfather’s puzzle, Grace follows his diary entries across towns and battle sites in northern France, where she becomes increasingly drawn to a charming French man—and suddenly aware that someone is following her…

     Through her grandfather’s vivid writing and Grace’s own travels, a picture emerges of a man very unlike the one who raised her: one who watched countless friends and loved ones die horrifically in battle; one who lived a life of regret. But her grandfather wasn’t the only one harboring secrets, and the more Grace learns about her family, the less she thinks she can trust them.

      My Review: Grace is going through a hard time. Her husband wants a divorce. As she is dealing with the loss of her marriage, she discovers her grandfather’s war diaries. He also left her a note that says that he regrets stealing them. What is it that her grandfather has stolen? Curious, Grace reads through her grandfather's diaries. Intrigued by what she reads, she decides to go to France to follow her grandfather's footsteps and piece together the meaning of the cryptic note that her grandfather left her

     Grace is a likable heroine that readers can root for. We can connect to her. She is a woman, who is going through difficult times in her life. The grandfather’s diaries provide her not only a diversion of drastic situations, but also provide comfort and healing. She is also very inquisitive and observant because she notices when things seem odd. Yet, she also has low self-confidence and seeks assurances from others to feel good about herself. Thus, while she has some weaknesses, she is a very strong-willed heroine. She is able to come to terms with herself. 

     I also like her grandfather, Martin. As a soldier in WWI, he is also going through hard times. There are times he faces his fears, doubts, and uncertainty. Yet, he is very smart, determined, and caring. I found him to be a complex, but fascinating character. I really loved reading his chapters and his diary entries for they are filled with action and tragedy.

     Overall, this book is about family secrets, love, choices, second chances, acceptance, and hope. I found the characters to be realistic and complex. I also thought this book was very meticulously researched and the setting was very vivid. Time and Regret has elements of action, mystery, family drama, and romance. I really found it to be a very poignant, raw, and emotional read. I really felt compassion for these characters. Therefore, this book is beautifully-written and thought-provoking. It will linger with you long after you have read the final page. I recommend this novel for fans of Lisa Jewell, Kate Morton, and Beatriz Williams.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CAN | Barnes & Noble | IndieBound


Praise For Time and Regret


“With fluid prose and a keen eye for detail, M.K. Tod takes readers on a decades-spanning journey of wartime loss, family secrets, and, ultimately, redemption.” – Holly Smith, Managing Editor, Washington Independent Review of Books

“Spiced with mystery and a spark of romance, TIME AND REGRET is an immersive journey into one man’s brave but terrifying slog through the killing fields of France and Flanders during WWI. Tod’s prose brims with exquisite atmospheric detail, drawing the reader into an unforgettable story.” – Juliet Grey: author of the acclaimed Marie Antoinette trilogy

“Time and Regret, equally captivating and suspenseful, presents well-drawn characters who strive to resolve past mysteries and overcome present obstacles. M.K. Tod is an impressively gifted storyteller who creates relatable conflicts and believable dangers. Highly recommended!” – Bestselling author Margaret Porter

“Hugely satisfying – impossible to put down.” – Elizabeth St. John author of The Lady of the Tower

“Time and Regret is something as rare as a treasure hunt with heart. Between the gritty trenches of World War I, the romantic allure of present-day France, and the cut-throat New York arts scene, M.K. Tod has spun a gripping family drama that delves deeply into the effects of war on the human soul and takes us on an intriguing journey of self-discovery. It is a book rich in hard-won wisdom and crucial historical insights, and Tod’s perceptive voice leads us unfaltering through some of the darkest chapters in human history to a very satisfying conclusion.” – Anne Fortier author of The Lost Sisterhood


About the Author

03_M.K. Tod     
     Time and Regret is M.K. Tod’s third novel. She began writing in 2005 while living as an expat in Hong Kong. What started as an interest in her grandparents’ lives turned into a full-time occupation writing historical fiction. Her novel Unravelled was awarded Indie Editor’s Choice by the Historical Novel Society. In addition to writing historical novels, she blogs about reading and writing historical fiction on www.awriterofhistory.com, reviews books for the Historical Novel Society and the Washington Independent Review of Books, and has conducted three highly respected reader surveys. She lives in Toronto, Canada, with her husband and is the mother of two adult children.


     For more information visit M.K. Tod's website. You can also find her on Facebook, Twitter, and Goodreads.


Blog Tour Schedule


Tuesday, August 16
Review at Diana's Book Reviews
Spotlight at Passages to the Past

Wednesday, August 17
Guest Post at The Silver Dagger Scriptorium

Thursday, August 18
Review at Creating Herstory
Review at Flashlight Commentary

Friday, August 19
Spotlight at What Is That Book About
Interview at Flashlight Commentary

Monday, August 22
Review at A Chick Who Reads
Review at Curling up by the Fire

Tuesday, August 23
Review at The Book Return

Wednesday, August 24
Spotlight at Broken Teepee

Thursday, August 25
Interview at Let Them Read Books

Friday, August 26
Review at A Bookaholic Swede
Review at Dianne Ascroft Blog (Author)

Sunday, August 28
Review at Carole's Ramblings

Monday, August 29
Spotlight at A Literary Vacation

Tuesday, August 30
Review at Bookramblings
Guest Post at The Gadoury Dreamer

Wednesday, August 31
Review at History From a Woman's Perspective



Giveaway


To enter to win a paperback copy of Time and Regret by M.K. Tod please see the GLEAM form below. Two copies are up for grabs!

Rules

– Giveaway ends at 11:59pm EST on August 31st. You must be 18 or older to enter.
– Giveaway is open to US residents only.
– Only one entry per household.
– All giveaway entrants agree to be honest and not cheat the systems; any suspect of fraud is decided upon by blog/site owner and the sponsor, and entrants may be disqualified at our discretion.
– Winner has 48 hours to claim prize or new winner is chosen.




04_Time and Regret_Blog Tour Banner_FINAL

Comments

  1. Many thanks, Lauralee for reviewing Time and Regret. Such an honour to have your 5 star rating too!! And to be compared to Kate Morton and Beatriz Williams - you've made my day. All best, M.K. (Mary) Tod

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: Written in the Ashes by K. Hollan Van Zandt: A Book Review

The Life and Death of Anne Boleyn by Eric Ives: A Book Review

Blog Tour Guest Post by K. Hollan Van Zandt: Women of The Ancient World