The Forgotten: Heir of the Heretic by J. Lynn Else: A Book Review

The Forgotten: Heir of the Heretic
Author: J. Lynn Else
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: J. Lynn Else
Release Date: 2016
Pages: 452
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Synopsis: It is a time of new beginnings! Pharaoh Akhenaten has declared that there is only one god to be worshipped throughout Egypt. He has also made a promise to his oldest daughter, Merytaten, that one day she will be his heir and the future pharaoh. However, as pressures build up against the new religion, it falls upon Akhenaten's wife, Nefertiti, and Merytaten to help prevent an insurrection. 

     Merytaten soon finds herself trapped in a world of broken dreams and empty promises. When she loses the meaning to her life, how can she possibly help the citizens? What can she do to assist the people who are falling into poverty? How can she save those she loves when Death's shadow looms large across the city? 

     Discover the struggles and triumphs of one young woman's lifetime...

     "Heir of the Heretic" is book 2 of 'The Forgotten' series by J. Lynn Else. 

     My Review: Merytaten is Akhenaten and Nefertiti’s oldest daughter. Because a son had not yet been born, Merytaten is raised to be the next pharaoh. However, her dreams of ruling are crushed when her father becomes obsessed withgetting a healthy son. She is married off to her evil cousin Smenkhkare, who is chosen to be Akhenaten’s successor. Merytaten watches her people’s suffering as both her father and husband lusts for power. Can Merytaten stand up to her husband and help her citizens?

    Merytaten is a wonderful character. I loved her more than Ankhesenamun. She is a very mature character. She suffers a lot and witnesses her dreams being taken away from her. Merytaten must learn how to make the best of the situation that is given to her. She is wise and is not afraid to stand up to her enemies. However, the reason why I love Merytaten more than Ankhesenamun is that she is selfless. She is not afraid to risk her life in order to help her people. She is a loving and caring individual. I hated to read the suffering that she went through and hoped that she would find happiness in the novel.

   Overall, this book is about faith, love, family, duty, and sacrifice. I thought that all the characters were very realistic. I thought that this novel was very fast-paced and full of action. The only thing I did not like about The Forgotten: Heir of the Heretic was the ending. It reminded of the ending of Tess of the d'Urbervilles. I thought that Merytaten deserved a better fate than what she was given in the novel. However, The Forgotten: Heir of the Heretic is a thought-provoking read that will linger with you long after you have read the last page. I have to add that even though this is the sequel to The Forgotten: Aten's Last Queen, it reads more like a prequel. I suggest that you read this book first in order to get a better understanding of the events that happen in The Forgotten: Aten's Last Queen. Thus, I recommend this novel for fans of Kiya, The She-King, and Nefertiti.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

    

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Chills and Thrills! My Favorite Halloween Reads: Part 1

Blog Tour: The Secrets of Chateau Swansea by R. C. Matthews: A Book Review

Chills and Thrills! My Favorite Halloween Reads: Part 2