Skip to main content

Blog Tour: Castles in Their Bones (Castles in Their Bones #1) by Laura Sebastian: A Book Review

     I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the CASTLES IN THEIR BONES by Laura Sebastian Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

 

About the Book:

Title: CASTLES IN THEIR BONES (Castles in their Bones #1)

Author: Laura Sebastian

Pub. Date: February 1, 2022

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, Audiobook

Pages: 528

Source: This book was given to me by Rockstar Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

Find it: GoodreadsAmazon, Kindle, Audible, B&N, iBooks, Kobo, TBD, Bookshop.org

Synopsis: A spellbinding story of three princesses and the destiny they were born for: seduction, conquest, and the crown. Immerse yourself in the first book in a new fantasy trilogy from the author of the New York Times bestselling Ash Princess series.

     Empress Margaraux has had plans for her daughters since the day they were born. Princesses Sophronia, Daphne, and Beatriz will be queens. And now, age sixteen, they each must leave their homeland and marry their princes.

     Beautiful, smart, and demure, the triplets appear to be the perfect brides—because Margaraux knows there is one common truth: everyone underestimates a girl. Which is a grave mistake. Sophronia, Daphne, and Beatriz are no innocents. They have been trained since birth in the arts of deception, seduction, and violence with a singular goal—to bring down monarchies— and their marriages are merely the first stage of their mother’s grand vision: to one day reign over the entire continent of Vesteria.

     The princesses have spent their lives preparing, and now they are ready, each with her own secret skill, and each with a single wish, pulled from the stars. Only, the stars have their own plans—and their mother hasn’t told them all of hers.

     Life abroad is a test. Will their loyalties stay true? Or will they learn that they can’t trust anyone—not even each other?

My Review:

     The triplets, Daphne, Beatriz, and Sophronia are the daughters of Empress Margaraux. They have just turned sixteen and have arranged marriages with princes and kings in neighboring countries. However, they are really spies for their mother. They are sent to ruin their adopted kingdoms so their mother can conquer them without ever having to lift a finger. Once these sisters arrive in their new kingdom, they find that it was not as easy to ruin their new country as they had hoped. They find that their mission is rife with obstacles. Can the three sisters ever accomplish their mission?  More importantly, can the sisters continue to remain loyal to each other?

     I found the sisters to be the most compelling characters in the story. They were given different personalities and characteristics. Daphne is cunning and athletic. Beatriz is fashionable and loves balls. Sophronia is clever and loves books. Even though they were trained to be their mother’s ruthless pawns, they actually had a kind heart. Their kindness was often the conflict in the story. Thus, I loved each of the sisters equally and their storylines were very enthralling.

      Overall, this novel is full of political intrigue and sisterhood. I found all the characters to be realistic and well-developed. This novel reminded me of eighteenth century politics. Empress Margaraux reminds me of Empress Maria Teresa who married her daughters for her own benefit at the cost of her daughters’ personal happinesses. While this was a long novel, I did not want this to end! Castles in Their Bones had many surprising twists and turns that it made hard to put down! Castles in Their Bones was a delicious, delightful, and flawless thriller that truly made it a feast for both fantasy and royalty fans alike! I am so excited for the sequel that I wished it came out now! Castle in Their Bones is an actual must-read for fans of Game of Thrones, The Glittering Court, and Three Dark Crowns!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars!

Reviews:

    "Enchanting...filled with captivating court intrigue and espionage." --Kirkus Reviews

     “A page-turner that brilliantly blends magic, romance, and adventure. A twist ending leaves readers reeling but ready for the second installment in the planned trilogy.” --Booklist

     "Sebastian excels at world building...and a few tantalizing open threads certainly warrant interest in the future two volumes in this trilogy." --The Bulletin

     "An extravagantly built series starter" --Publishers Weekly

 About Laura:

     Laura Sebastian grew up in South Florida and attended Savannah  College of Art and Design. She now lives and writes in London, England, with her two dogs, Neville and Circe. Laura is the author of the New York Times bestselling Ash Princess series: Ash PrincessLady Smoke, and Ember Queen, as well as Half Sick of Shadows, her first novel for adults. To learn more about Laura and her books, follow @sebastian_lk on Twitter.

 

Website | Twitter | Instagram | TikTok | Goodreads | Amazon | BookBub

 

Giveaway Details:

 

3 winners will receive a finished copy of CASTLES IN THEIR BONES, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

1/31/2022

YABooksCentral

Interview

1/31/2022

History from a Woman’s Perspective

Review

2/1/2022

A Court of Coffee and Books

Review

2/1/2022

onemused

Review

2/2/2022

Star-Crossed Book Blog

Review

2/2/2022

Lifestyle of Me

Review

2/3/2022

Two Points of Interest

Review

2/3/2022

Celia's Reads

Review

2/4/2022

The Bookwyrm's Den

Review

2/4/2022

@lexijava

Review

Week Two:

2/7/2022

The Caffeinated Reader

Review

2/7/2022

The Reading Devil

Review

2/8/2022

BookBriefs

Review

2/8/2022

Momfluenster

Review

2/9/2022

The Momma Spot

Review

2/9/2022

@drewsim12

Review

2/10/2022

Rajiv's Reviews

Review

2/10/2022

A Bookish Dream

Review

2/11/2022

More Books Please blog

Review

2/11/2022

Nerdophiles

Review


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: Release Blitz of Our Last Days in Barcelona by Chanel Cleeton

Our Last Days in Barcelona Author: Chanel Cleeton Historical Fiction Publisher: Berkley Pages: 320 Synopsis: Barcelona, 1964 . Exiled from Cuba after the revolution, Isabel Perez has learned to guard her heart and protect her family at all costs. After Isabel’s sister Beatriz disappears in Barcelona, Isabel goes to Spain in search of her. Joining forces with an unlikely ally thrusts Isabel into her sister’s dangerous world of espionage, but it’s an unearthed piece of family history that transforms Isabel’s life.      Barcelona, 1936 . Alicia Perez arrives in Barcelona after a difficult voyage from Cuba, her marriage in jeopardy and her young daughter Isabel in tow. Violence brews in Spain, the country on the brink of civil war, the rise of fascism threatening the world. When Cubans journey to Spain to join the International Brigades, Alicia’s past comes back to haunt her as she is unexpectedly reunited with the man who once held her heart.      Alicia and Isabel’s lives intertwine, and

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Dreamland by Nancy Bilyeau

Dreamland Author: Nancy Bilyeau Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery & Suspense Publisher: Lume Books Release Date: 2020 Pages: 291 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The year is 1911 when twenty-year-old heiress Peggy Batternberg is invited to spend the summer in America’s Playground.       The invitation to Coney Island is unwelcome. Despite hailing from one of America’s richest families, Peggy would much rather spend the summer working at the Moonrise Bookstore than keeping up appearances with New York City socialites and her snobbish, controlling family.      But soon it transpires that the hedonism of Coney Island affords Peggy the freedom she has been yearning for, and it’s not long before she finds herself in love with a troubled pier-side artist of humble means, whom the Batternberg patriarchs would surely disapprove of. Disapprove they may, but hidden behind their pomposity lurks a web of deceit, betrayal, and deadly secrets. And as bodie