Skip to main content

Blog Tour: Shattered Midnight (The Mirror #2) by Dhonielle Clayton: A Book Review

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the SHATTERED MIDNIGHT by Dhonielle Clayton Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

 About The Book:

Title: SHATTERED MIDNIGHT (The Mirror #2)

Author: Dhonielle Clayton

Pub. Date: January 18, 2022

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook

Genre: YA, Historical Fiction, Fantasy

Pages: 304

Source: This book was given to me by Rockstar Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

Find it: GoodreadsAmazon, Kindle,  AudibleB&NiBooks, KoboTBD, Bookshop.org

Synopsis: The Mirror: Shattered Midnight is the second novel in the innovative four-book fairy-tale series written by Julie C. Dao, Dhonielle Clayton, J.C. Cervantes, and L. L. McKinney, following one family over several generations, and the curse that plagues it.

     Zora Broussard has arrived in New Orleans with not much more than a bag of clothes, a beautiful voice, and a pair of enchanted red shoes. Running from a tragic accident caused by her magic, Zora wants nothing more than to blend in, as well as to avoid her overbearing aunt and mean-spirited cousins. Music becomes Zora’s only means of escape, yet she wonders if she should give it all up to remove the powers that make her a target, especially as a Black woman in the South.

     But when Zora gets the chance to perform in a prominent jazz club, she meets a sweet white pianist named Phillip with magic of his own, including a strange mirror that foretells their future together. Falling into a forbidden love, Zora and Phillip must keep their relationship a secret. And soon the two discover the complicated connection between their respective families, a connection that could lead to catastrophe for them both. In the era of segregation and speakeasies, Zora must change her destiny and fight for the one she loves . . . or risk losing everything. 

 


Grab Book 1, BROKEN WISH now!

My Review:

Shattered Midnight is the sequel to Broken Wish. Zora is living with her mean aunt and spoiled cousins in New Orleans. She sneaks out of the house to sing at jazz clubs. She falls in love with a new piano player named Phillip, but they cannot be together because they are of two different races. Could the two be together when society tries to pull them apart?


Zora is a very likable character. She had magic running through her veins. However, she doesn’t know how to control it. Because her magic was a mystery, she is afraid of it and wants to get rid of it. Throughout the novel, she struggles to accept who she is and comes to embrace her gift. I also find Zora to be a strong-willed character. She was always fighting for her love and happiness. I find the relationship between Zora and Phillip to be the most interesting. It is forbidden in the 1920s to have an interracial romance. They know the consequences of what would happen if they were caught. Yet, they are determined to fight society to be together. I could not help but wish for a happy ending for them!


Overall, this novel is about segregation, interracial romance and jazz music! The only things I did not like about this novel was that aside from Zora, the rest of the characters were not developed. Also, I would like more details about Zora’s magic! Still, this was a magical love story! The best part of the novel was the author’s lush descriptions of 1920s New Orleans. The setting quickly lulled me into the enchanting story! Shattered Midnight stayed with me long after I finished the last page! I can’t wait to read the sequel, which seems a long way from now! I recommend Shattered Midnight for fans of Evangeline of the Bayou, Labyrinth Lost, and These Violent Delights!

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

About Dhonielle:

      Dhonielle Clayton is a New York Times Bestselling author of The Belles series, the coauthor of the Tiny Pretty Things duology which debuts as a Netflix original series soon, and the author of the forthcoming MG fantasy series The Marvellers. She hails from the Washington, D.C. suburbs on the Maryland side. She taught secondary school for several years, and is a former elementary and middle school librarian. She is COO of the non-profit We Need Diverse Books, and co-founder of CAKE Literary, a creative kitchen whipping up decadent—and decidedly diverse—literary confections for middle grade, young adult, and women’s fiction readers. She’s an avid traveler, and always on the hunt for magic and mischief. 

 

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads | Amazon | BookBub

Giveaway Details:

3 winners will receive a finished copy of SHATTERED MIDNIGHT, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

1/1/2022

YA Books Central

Excerpt

Week Two:

1/2/2022

Simplybeccamee

Review

1/3/2022

The Bookwyrm's Den

Review

1/4/2022

Kait Plus Books

Review

1/5/2022

Emelie's Books

Review

1/6/2022

Rajiv's Reviews

Review

1/7/2022

More Books Please blog

Review

1/8/2022

Cocoa With Books

Review

Week Three:

1/9/2022

Bri's Book Nook

Review

1/10/2022

@enjoyingbooksagain

Review

1/11/2022

Sometimes Leelynn Reads

Review

1/12/2022

Locks, Hooks and Books

Review

1/13/2022

@moonlight_rendezvous

Review

1/14/2022

@bookisheclectic

Review

1/15/2022

Lexijava_Bookish

Review

Week Four:

1/16/2022

@jypsylynn

Review

1/17/2022

History From A Woman's Perspective

Review

1/18/2022

The Momma Spot

Review

1/19/2022

thecaffeinated.reader

Review

1/20/2022

onemused

Review

1/21/2022

Lifestyle of Me

Review

1/22/2022

Stuck in the Stacks

Review

Week Five:

1/23/2022

A Bookish Dream

Review

1/24/2022

@drewsim12

Review

1/25/2022

coffeebooksandmascara

Review

1/26/2022

Fire and Ice

Review

1/27/2022

Books a Plenty Book Reviews

Review

1/28/2022

@abackwardsstory

Review

1/29/2022

BookBriefs

Review

Week Six:

1/30/2022

Momfluenster

IG Post

1/31/2022

Popthebutterfly Reads

Review


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: Release Blitz of Our Last Days in Barcelona by Chanel Cleeton

Our Last Days in Barcelona Author: Chanel Cleeton Historical Fiction Publisher: Berkley Pages: 320 Synopsis: Barcelona, 1964 . Exiled from Cuba after the revolution, Isabel Perez has learned to guard her heart and protect her family at all costs. After Isabel’s sister Beatriz disappears in Barcelona, Isabel goes to Spain in search of her. Joining forces with an unlikely ally thrusts Isabel into her sister’s dangerous world of espionage, but it’s an unearthed piece of family history that transforms Isabel’s life.      Barcelona, 1936 . Alicia Perez arrives in Barcelona after a difficult voyage from Cuba, her marriage in jeopardy and her young daughter Isabel in tow. Violence brews in Spain, the country on the brink of civil war, the rise of fascism threatening the world. When Cubans journey to Spain to join the International Brigades, Alicia’s past comes back to haunt her as she is unexpectedly reunited with the man who once held her heart.      Alicia and Isabel’s lives intertwine, and

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Dreamland by Nancy Bilyeau

Dreamland Author: Nancy Bilyeau Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery & Suspense Publisher: Lume Books Release Date: 2020 Pages: 291 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The year is 1911 when twenty-year-old heiress Peggy Batternberg is invited to spend the summer in America’s Playground.       The invitation to Coney Island is unwelcome. Despite hailing from one of America’s richest families, Peggy would much rather spend the summer working at the Moonrise Bookstore than keeping up appearances with New York City socialites and her snobbish, controlling family.      But soon it transpires that the hedonism of Coney Island affords Peggy the freedom she has been yearning for, and it’s not long before she finds herself in love with a troubled pier-side artist of humble means, whom the Batternberg patriarchs would surely disapprove of. Disapprove they may, but hidden behind their pomposity lurks a web of deceit, betrayal, and deadly secrets. And as bodie