Skip to main content

Blog Tour: Shattered Midnight (The Mirror #2) by Dhonielle Clayton: A Book Review

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the SHATTERED MIDNIGHT by Dhonielle Clayton Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

 About The Book:

Title: SHATTERED MIDNIGHT (The Mirror #2)

Author: Dhonielle Clayton

Pub. Date: January 18, 2022

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook

Genre: YA, Historical Fiction, Fantasy

Pages: 304

Source: This book was given to me by Rockstar Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

Find it: GoodreadsAmazon, Kindle,  AudibleB&NiBooks, KoboTBD, Bookshop.org

Synopsis: The Mirror: Shattered Midnight is the second novel in the innovative four-book fairy-tale series written by Julie C. Dao, Dhonielle Clayton, J.C. Cervantes, and L. L. McKinney, following one family over several generations, and the curse that plagues it.

     Zora Broussard has arrived in New Orleans with not much more than a bag of clothes, a beautiful voice, and a pair of enchanted red shoes. Running from a tragic accident caused by her magic, Zora wants nothing more than to blend in, as well as to avoid her overbearing aunt and mean-spirited cousins. Music becomes Zora’s only means of escape, yet she wonders if she should give it all up to remove the powers that make her a target, especially as a Black woman in the South.

     But when Zora gets the chance to perform in a prominent jazz club, she meets a sweet white pianist named Phillip with magic of his own, including a strange mirror that foretells their future together. Falling into a forbidden love, Zora and Phillip must keep their relationship a secret. And soon the two discover the complicated connection between their respective families, a connection that could lead to catastrophe for them both. In the era of segregation and speakeasies, Zora must change her destiny and fight for the one she loves . . . or risk losing everything. 

 


Grab Book 1, BROKEN WISH now!

My Review:

Shattered Midnight is the sequel to Broken Wish. Zora is living with her mean aunt and spoiled cousins in New Orleans. She sneaks out of the house to sing at jazz clubs. She falls in love with a new piano player named Phillip, but they cannot be together because they are of two different races. Could the two be together when society tries to pull them apart?


Zora is a very likable character. She had magic running through her veins. However, she doesn’t know how to control it. Because her magic was a mystery, she is afraid of it and wants to get rid of it. Throughout the novel, she struggles to accept who she is and comes to embrace her gift. I also find Zora to be a strong-willed character. She was always fighting for her love and happiness. I find the relationship between Zora and Phillip to be the most interesting. It is forbidden in the 1920s to have an interracial romance. They know the consequences of what would happen if they were caught. Yet, they are determined to fight society to be together. I could not help but wish for a happy ending for them!


Overall, this novel is about segregation, interracial romance and jazz music! The only things I did not like about this novel was that aside from Zora, the rest of the characters were not developed. Also, I would like more details about Zora’s magic! Still, this was a magical love story! The best part of the novel was the author’s lush descriptions of 1920s New Orleans. The setting quickly lulled me into the enchanting story! Shattered Midnight stayed with me long after I finished the last page! I can’t wait to read the sequel, which seems a long way from now! I recommend Shattered Midnight for fans of Evangeline of the Bayou, Labyrinth Lost, and These Violent Delights!

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

About Dhonielle:

      Dhonielle Clayton is a New York Times Bestselling author of The Belles series, the coauthor of the Tiny Pretty Things duology which debuts as a Netflix original series soon, and the author of the forthcoming MG fantasy series The Marvellers. She hails from the Washington, D.C. suburbs on the Maryland side. She taught secondary school for several years, and is a former elementary and middle school librarian. She is COO of the non-profit We Need Diverse Books, and co-founder of CAKE Literary, a creative kitchen whipping up decadent—and decidedly diverse—literary confections for middle grade, young adult, and women’s fiction readers. She’s an avid traveler, and always on the hunt for magic and mischief. 

 

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads | Amazon | BookBub

Giveaway Details:

3 winners will receive a finished copy of SHATTERED MIDNIGHT, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

1/1/2022

YA Books Central

Excerpt

Week Two:

1/2/2022

Simplybeccamee

Review

1/3/2022

The Bookwyrm's Den

Review

1/4/2022

Kait Plus Books

Review

1/5/2022

Emelie's Books

Review

1/6/2022

Rajiv's Reviews

Review

1/7/2022

More Books Please blog

Review

1/8/2022

Cocoa With Books

Review

Week Three:

1/9/2022

Bri's Book Nook

Review

1/10/2022

@enjoyingbooksagain

Review

1/11/2022

Sometimes Leelynn Reads

Review

1/12/2022

Locks, Hooks and Books

Review

1/13/2022

@moonlight_rendezvous

Review

1/14/2022

@bookisheclectic

Review

1/15/2022

Lexijava_Bookish

Review

Week Four:

1/16/2022

@jypsylynn

Review

1/17/2022

History From A Woman's Perspective

Review

1/18/2022

The Momma Spot

Review

1/19/2022

thecaffeinated.reader

Review

1/20/2022

onemused

Review

1/21/2022

Lifestyle of Me

Review

1/22/2022

Stuck in the Stacks

Review

Week Five:

1/23/2022

A Bookish Dream

Review

1/24/2022

@drewsim12

Review

1/25/2022

coffeebooksandmascara

Review

1/26/2022

Fire and Ice

Review

1/27/2022

Books a Plenty Book Reviews

Review

1/28/2022

@abackwardsstory

Review

1/29/2022

BookBriefs

Review

Week Six:

1/30/2022

Momfluenster

IG Post

1/31/2022

Popthebutterfly Reads

Review


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: The Portraitist: A Novel of Adelaide Labille-Guiard by Susanne Dunlap

The Portraitist: A Novel of Adelaide Labille-Guiard by Susanne Dunlap Publication Date: August 30, 2022 She Writes Press Genre: Historical Fiction Synopsis: Based on a true story, this is the tale of Adélaïde Labille-Guiard’s fight to take her rightful place in the competitive art world of eighteenth-century Paris.     With a beautiful rival who’s better connected and better trained than she is, Adélaïde faces an uphill battle. Her love affair with her young instructor in oil painting gives rise to suspicions that he touches up her work, and her decision to make much-needed money by executing erotic pastels threatens to create as many problems as it solves. Meanwhile, her rival goes from strength to strength, becoming Marie Antoinette’s official portraitist and gaining entrance to the elite Académie Royale at the same time as Adélaïde.      When at last Adélaïde earns her own royal appointment and receives a massive commission from a member of the royal family, the timing couldn

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Blog Tour: The Perilous Journey of the Not So Innocuous Girl ( Book #1) by Leigh Statham: A Book Review

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the THE PERILOUS JOURNEY OF THE NOT SO INNOCUOUS GIRL by Leigh Statham Blog Tour hosted by  Rockstar Book Tours . Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!   About The Book: THE PERILOUS JOURNEY OF THE NOT SO INNOCUOUS GIRL (The Perilous Journey of the Not So Innocuous Girl #1) Author:  Leigh Statham Pub. Date:  September 13, 2022 Publisher:  Cricket Press, LLC Genre : Steampunk, Historical Fiction, Adventure, YA Formats:  Paperback, eBook Pages:  286 Find it:   Goodreads ,  Amazon , Kindle , B&N , TBD , Bookshop.org Synopsis:  This brand new edition of the book contains updated historical facts, an amazing new cover, and extra punk for your steam machines!      Lady Marguerite lives a life most 17th-century French girls can only dream of: money, designer dresses, suitors, and a secure future. Except she can't quite commit to a life of dull luxury and she suspects she may be falling for her best friend, Claud