Skip to main content

By Her Own Design by Piper Huguley: A Book Review

By Her Own Design: A Novel of Ann Lowe, Fashion Designer to the Social Register
Author: Piper Huguley
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Release Date:  June 7, 2022
Pages: 384
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: The incredible untold story of how Ann Lowe, a Black woman and granddaughter of slaves, rose above personal struggles and racial prejudice to design and create one of America's most famous wedding dresses of all time for Jackie Kennedy.

     1953, New York City


     Less than a week before the society wedding of the year where Jacqueline Bouvier will marry John F. Kennedy, a pipe bursts at Ann Lowe’s dress shop and ruins eleven dresses, including the expensive wedding dress, a dress that will be judged by thousands. A Black designer who has fought every step of the way, Ann knows this is only one struggle after a lifetime of them. She and her seamstresses will find the way to re-create the dresses. It may take all day and all night for the next week to accomplish the task, but they will do it.


     1918, Tampa


     Raised in Jim Crow Alabama, Ann learned the art of sewing from her mother and her grandmother, a former slave, who are the most talented seamstresses in the state. After Ann elopes at twelve with an older man who soon proves himself to be an abusive alcoholic, her dreams of becoming a celebrated designer seem to be put on hold. But then a wealthy Tampa socialite sees Ann’s talent and offers her an amazing opportunity—the chance to sew and design clothing for Florida’s society elite. Taking her young son in the middle of the night, Ann escapes her husband and embarks on the adventure of a lifetime.


     Based on the true story of one of the most famous designers of the twenties through the sixties who has since been unjustly forgotten, By Her Own Design is an unforgettable novel of determination despite countless obstacles and a triumph celebrated by the world.


     My Review: By Her Own Design is a biographical novel of Ann Lowe, who was the first African American to be a renowned fashion designer. She was most notable for designing the dress of Jacqueline Kennedy. Ann Lowe was born and raised in Alabama. One day in a department store in Dothan, a rich woman noticed Ann’s dress and asked her to make dresses for her daughters. Under her benefactor, Ann was given the opportunity to attend school and fashion her craft. She quickly became one of the most successful designers of her time.


     I had never heard of Ann Lowe so I found this to be a very engrossing read. Ann came from a family of accomplished fashion designers. She had always dreamt of establishing her own shop as a young girl. However, Ann’s childhood was very traumatic. At twelve years old, she married a man that was almost three times her age. He was very controlling and abusive. When the opportunity came her way, she did not hesitate to cease it. Ann worked tirelessly to make her dreams come true. She loved designing and never gave up. She was hardworking, artistic, humble, and had a strong faith in God that would help her through all of her difficulties. Therefore, Ann was a very compelling character. 


     Overall, this novel brought to light a long forgotten figure. I found all the characters to be very complex. However, there were a few graphic scenes in the beginning that made me uncomfortable to read but the rest of the novel focuses on Ann’s relationship with her clients. I loved learning about her designs, especially how she designed Jacqueline Kennedy’s dress. The story was very well-written, and it showed the prejudices that Ann Lowe faced as she strives for success. Ann made many sacrifices to pursue her dream, but her greatest love was her art. By Her Own Design is an enthralling read for fans of the Kennedys because there were a lot of focus on Jacqueline Kennedy before her marriage to JFK. I recommend this novel for fans of The Gown, A Dress of Violet Taffeta, and The Paris Dressmaker!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

     


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to