Skip to main content

Veil of Winter (Dericott Tale #3) by Melanie Dickerson: A Book Review

Veil of Winter (Dericott Tale #3)

Author: Melanie Dickerson

Genre: YA, Historical Fiction, Christian

Publisher: Thomas Nelson

Release Date: June 14, 2022

Pages: 320

Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: She’s hounded from every side by treacherous elements and foes, but her greatest enemy lies within.


     In the mountains near France, the medieval Princess Elyce is being forced to marry, thus forming an alliance that will enrich her father but enslave her kingdom. Instead, she chooses to feign her death and flee to Prague to beg King Wenceslaus to help save her people.


     In England, the young knight Sir Gerard has a vision from God instructing him to help Elyce on her quest. When he arrives to find she has been near death for days, he manages to revive her. However, thinking the stranger was trying to kiss her, the princess immediately distrusts him. But her desperate situation forces her to accept his aid.


      Pursued by her enemy’s guards over mountainous terrain, they must also battle the deadly winter elements. Her greatest challenge may be to overcome the voices of disapproval and accusation from her childhood. Will her emotions lead her into her true identity, or will they undermine her ability to work with Gerard and to save her people, who desperately need her help?


     In this dazzling and romantic story, New York Times bestselling author Melanie Dickerson takes the classic Sleeping Beauty fairy tale to satisfying new heights.


      My Review: Veil of Winter is the third installment in the Dericott Tale series and is a retelling of Sleeping Beauty. Princess Elyce’s father has formed an alliance that will bring prosperity to her father but enslave her people. The terms of the alliance is that Princess Elyce must marry. Princess Elyce is against the marriage alliance and wants to ask King Wenceslaus for help. She fakes her own death and sets out on her journey to Prague. She is accompanied by Ser Gerard who is instructed to protect her at all costs.


     I found Princess Elyce to be an unlikable character. She was very annoying and irritating throughout most of the novel. She is cold and is mean to everyone around her. She treats Sir Gerard horribly for no reason. She doesn’t respect him and often uses him. Therefore, I found their romance to be unconvincing, and I did not believe she deserved him. Thus, Princess Elyce was mostly a passive and weak character. I found it hard to empathize with her and root for her.


      Overall, this novel is about hope, love, and faith. The message of the story is to always embrace your emotions because they are part of what God has made you. There is very little character development. Sir Gerard is the perfect hero, and the villains are the cartoonish bad guys. The story moves at an evenly pace, but the ending was rushed. The setting is the best part of the novel because the wintry landscapes feel like a fairytale. This novel is a sweet and light read for those that like fairytale romances. However, I found Mrs. Dickerson’s other Sleeping Beauty retelling called The Healer’s Apprentice to be more enjoyable. Still, I recommend this for fans of Jody Hedlund, Nadine Brandes, and Tamara Leigh!


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to