Skip to main content

The Last Princess by Shelley Wilson: A Book Review

The Last Princess
Author: Shelley Wilson
Genre: YA, Historical Fiction
Publisher: BHC Press
Release Date: May 24, 2022
Pages: 256
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Northumbria, 866 AD

     Edith still has much to learn about the art of ruling a kingdom, but when her family is murdered, she's faced with the challenge of staying alive.


      As a young woman in Anglo-Saxon England, Edith finds it hard to be heard above the Eldermen who are ripping the kingdom to pieces, but nothing can prepare her for the arrival of the pirates and the Vikings. Torn from her homeland and sold into slavery, she's determined to survive at any cost.


      Finding allies in the unexpected and enemies closer to home, Edith clings to her dream of returning home one day to reclaim her throne and to exact revenge on those who harmed her family.


My Review: Edith is a princess of Northumbria. She is her father’s chosen heir because her father has no sons. One night, her parents and sisters are killed by pirates. Her uncle becomes king of Northumbria and marries Edith to an old man. A few days later, her husband is killed and Edith becomes a slave to the Vikings. Under the hands of the Vikings, she trains as a warrior. While she is accustomed to her new life in Viking territory, she continues to harbor the dream of becoming queen of Northumbria. Would Edith ever take the throne back from her uncle and become the queen her father always wanted to be?


     Edith is a strong protagonist. She has been raised to be the next queen of Northumbria. Therefore, she strategically makes political moves to help her to become queen. Even when she has nothing left and is in enemy territory, she continues to make political decisions. The only time she is not thinking of politics is when she marries for love. Edith is also understandably angry for what has happened to her family and wants vengeance. I found Edith to not only be a hardened warrior in the novel but also a survivor. She goes through so many tragedies but she becomes more determined, assertive, and confident. Thus, I was rooting for her all the way to find her own personal happiness.


     Overall, this novel is about different cultures, acceptance, and survival. The story is very fast-paced and is full of political intrigue. I did find all of the characters to be very stereotypical with little character development. I found the romance to be forced and instantaneous with shallow depth. Many parts of the book seemed rushed. Still, I found the depiction of the Vikings to be very fascinating. The setting of both England and Germany was very well-written, and it is full of vivid historical details. The Last Princess is an enthralling read for those that love reading about the Vikings. I recommend this for fans of Shield-Maiden: Under the Howling Moon, The Norse Queen, and Rise of the Shieldmaiden!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars.


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to