Cleopatra Unconquered (Volume #1) by Helen R. Davis: A Book Review

Cleopatra Unconquered (Volume #1)
Author: Helen R. Davis
Genre: Alternative Historical Fiction
Publisher: Savant Books & Publications LLC
Release Date: 2015
Pages: 328
Source: This book was given to me by Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: The first book of three in a richly imagined ancient world where the course of history is altered by one battle. In this world, Antony and Cleopatra triumph at the Battle of Actium, and Cleopatra emerges as a queen, stateswoman, and politician. Those around her come to life as the reader returns to those days to live them with her. 

     My Review: Cleopatra Unconquered is the first in a trilogy that that imagines what would happen if Cleopatra won the Battle of Actium. This book narrates Cleopatra’s challenges to becoming pharaoh. She is the favorite child of her father Ptolemy XII. When he dies, Cleopatra marries her brother Ptolemy XIII. However, she faces a war between her siblings for the crown of Egypt. Her only hope of ever reconquering her kingdom is through Julius Caesar. Together, Julius Caesar and Cleopatra dream of forming an alliance between Rome and Egypt.

   Even though this is an alternative history series, Cleopatra Unconquered is mostly a straightforward historical fiction novel until the end. This novel introduces us to Cleopatra and her trials. Cleopatra is a strong and capable queen. She is a quick-thinker and manges to turn the odds in her favor. She can be impatient at times. However, she is very ambitious. The novels shows that she loves Egypt and cares about her kingdom. Thus, she was a very admirable figure and shows that she was able to hold her own in a man’s world.

   Overall, Cleopatra Unconquered is full of political intrigue, betrayal, and ambition. I like how the novel narrates the events that happen before the Battle of Actium. I thought all the characters except for Antony were developed. There were very few scenes with Antony, and I would love for him to be featured more. The drawbacks of the novel was the fantasy aspect in the story did not appeal to me, and I found them to be unnecessary to the plot. Also, the story seemed rushed, especially towards the end. It seemed as if once she met her word count, the author wanted to suddenly end her novel. Despite these flaws, it was a very enjoyable novel for fans of Cleopatra. I look forward to reading what happens to Cleopatra and Antony. I recommend this novel for fans of The Memoirs of Cleopatra, Kleopatra, and Cleopatra: Daughter of the Nile.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars



Comments

  1. Thank you so much for your review, Lauralee!

    Amy
    HF Virtual Book Tours

    ReplyDelete
  2. Just to let you know this is first in a series of four now. It is no longer going to be a trilogy.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Side by Side: A Novel of Bonnie and Clyde by Jenni L. Walsh: A Book Review

Blog Tour: The Secrets of Chateau Swansea by R. C. Matthews: A Book Review

The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel: A Story of Sleepy Hollow by Alyssa Palombo: A Book Review