Skip to main content

An Indiscreet Princess: A Novel of Queen Victoria's Defiant Daughter by Georgie Blalock: A Book Review

An Indiscreet Princess: A Novel of Queen Victoria’s Defiant Daughter
Author: Georgie Blalock
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Release Date: 2022
Pages: 400
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: Before Princess Margaret, before Duchess Meghan, there was Princess Louise: royal rebel.


     As the fourth daughter of the perpetually in-mourning Queen Victoria, Princess Louise’s life is more a gilded prison than a fairy tale. Expected to sit quietly next to her mother with down-cast eyes, Louise vows to escape the stultifying royal court. Blessed with beauty, artistic talent, and a common touch, she creates a life outside the walled-in existence of the palace grounds by attending the National Art Training School—where she shockingly learns to sculpt nude models while falling passionately in love with famed sculptor Joseph Edgar Boehm.


     But even as Louise cultivates a life outside the palace, she is constantly reminded that even royal rebels must heed the call of duty—and for a princess that means marriage. Refusing to leave England, she agrees to a match with the Duke of Argyll, and although her heart belongs to another, she is determined to act out her public role perfectly, even if her private life teeters on the brink of scandal. But when a near fatal accident forces Louise back under her mother’s iron rule, she realizes she must choose: give in to the grief of lost love or find the strength to fight for her unconventional life.


     My Review: Princess Louise was Queen Victoria’s most scandalous daughter. Her indiscreet behavior shocked the Victorian era. She was famous for her many liaisons, her artwork, and her marriage to a commoner. An Indiscreet Princess  tells the story of how Princess Louise strives to be an artist. She enrolls with an art school and falls in love with her teacher. However, Princess Louise must adhere to the expectations of a royal princess. Princess Louise must choose between love or duty.


   I read this novel right after reading Heather B. Moore’s fabulous novel, In the Shadow of a Queen. I was excited to read it to get a different perspective on Princess Louise. This novel did not disappoint, and I read it in one sitting. An Indiscreet Princess focused on Princess Louise’s time in school and her ill-fated romance with her art teacher. Princess Louise was still a sympathetic character. She yearned for the freedom to pursue her passion for art and love. However, her mother found her profession and her suitor to be very unsuitable for a princess. Princess Louise was determined to live her life according to her own terms. I found Princess Louise to be a very strong woman and an engaging heroine. Thus, I enjoyed Mrs. Blalock’s version of Princess Louise.


     Overall, this novel was about freedom, love, and duty. I found all the characters to be very complex. I like how Mrs. Blalock included Princess Louise’s letters into the story. The story was well-written, meticulously researched, and filled with vivid imagery. After reading In the Shadow of a Queen, I did wish that An Indiscreet Princess would begin with Princess Louise as a child instead of an adult. I also found the beginning to be very slow. Still, it was a very compelling and engaging read! This novel is a must read for royal fans! I recommend this novel for fans of I, Victoria, The Wild Princess, and A Most English Princess! An Indiscreet Princess is a delightful tribute to Princess Louise, Queen Victoria’s most enigmatic daughter!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

That Summer in Berlin by Lecia Cornwall: A Book Review

That Summer in Berlin Author: Lecia Cornwall Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Berkley Release Date: 2022 Pages: 464 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: In the summer of 1936, while the Nazis make secret plans for World War II, a courageous and daring young woman struggles to expose the lies behind the dazzling spectacle of the Berlin Olympics.       German power is rising again, threatening a war that will be even worse than the last one. The English aristocracy turns to an age-old institution to stave off war and strengthen political bonds—marriage. Debutantes flock to Germany, including Viviane Alden. On holiday with her sister during the 1936 Berlin Olympics, Viviane’s true purpose is more clandestine. While many in England want to appease Hitler, others seek to prove Germany is rearming. But they need evidence, photographs to tell the tale, and Viviane is a genius with her trusty Leica. And who would suspect a pretty, young tourist taking hol