Skip to main content

An Indiscreet Princess: A Novel of Queen Victoria's Defiant Daughter by Georgie Blalock: A Book Review

An Indiscreet Princess: A Novel of Queen Victoria’s Defiant Daughter
Author: Georgie Blalock
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Release Date: 2022
Pages: 400
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: Before Princess Margaret, before Duchess Meghan, there was Princess Louise: royal rebel.


     As the fourth daughter of the perpetually in-mourning Queen Victoria, Princess Louise’s life is more a gilded prison than a fairy tale. Expected to sit quietly next to her mother with down-cast eyes, Louise vows to escape the stultifying royal court. Blessed with beauty, artistic talent, and a common touch, she creates a life outside the walled-in existence of the palace grounds by attending the National Art Training School—where she shockingly learns to sculpt nude models while falling passionately in love with famed sculptor Joseph Edgar Boehm.


     But even as Louise cultivates a life outside the palace, she is constantly reminded that even royal rebels must heed the call of duty—and for a princess that means marriage. Refusing to leave England, she agrees to a match with the Duke of Argyll, and although her heart belongs to another, she is determined to act out her public role perfectly, even if her private life teeters on the brink of scandal. But when a near fatal accident forces Louise back under her mother’s iron rule, she realizes she must choose: give in to the grief of lost love or find the strength to fight for her unconventional life.


     My Review: Princess Louise was Queen Victoria’s most scandalous daughter. Her indiscreet behavior shocked the Victorian era. She was famous for her many liaisons, her artwork, and her marriage to a commoner. An Indiscreet Princess  tells the story of how Princess Louise strives to be an artist. She enrolls with an art school and falls in love with her teacher. However, Princess Louise must adhere to the expectations of a royal princess. Princess Louise must choose between love or duty.


   I read this novel right after reading Heather B. Moore’s fabulous novel, In the Shadow of a Queen. I was excited to read it to get a different perspective on Princess Louise. This novel did not disappoint, and I read it in one sitting. An Indiscreet Princess focused on Princess Louise’s time in school and her ill-fated romance with her art teacher. Princess Louise was still a sympathetic character. She yearned for the freedom to pursue her passion for art and love. However, her mother found her profession and her suitor to be very unsuitable for a princess. Princess Louise was determined to live her life according to her own terms. I found Princess Louise to be a very strong woman and an engaging heroine. Thus, I enjoyed Mrs. Blalock’s version of Princess Louise.


     Overall, this novel was about freedom, love, and duty. I found all the characters to be very complex. I like how Mrs. Blalock included Princess Louise’s letters into the story. The story was well-written, meticulously researched, and filled with vivid imagery. After reading In the Shadow of a Queen, I did wish that An Indiscreet Princess would begin with Princess Louise as a child instead of an adult. I also found the beginning to be very slow. Still, it was a very compelling and engaging read! This novel is a must read for royal fans! I recommend this novel for fans of I, Victoria, The Wild Princess, and A Most English Princess! An Indiscreet Princess is a delightful tribute to Princess Louise, Queen Victoria’s most enigmatic daughter!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Iceberg by Jennifer A. Nielsen: A Book Review

  Iceberg Author: Jennifer A. Nielsen Genre: Children, Historical Fiction, Mystery, Adventure Publisher: Scholastic Release Date: March 7, 2023 Pages: 317 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis : As disaster looms on the horizon, a young stowaway onboard the Titanic will need all her courage and wits to stay alive. A thrilling tale from New York Times bestselling author Jennifer A. Nielsen!     Hazel Rothbury is traveling all alone from her home in England aboard the celebrated ship Titanic . Following the untimely death of her father, Hazel’s mother is sending her to the US to work in a factory, so that she might send money back home to help her family make ends meet.     But Hazel harbors a secret dream: She wants to be a journalist, and she just knows that if she can write and sell a story about the Titanic ’s maiden voyage, she could earn enough money to support her family and not have to go to a sweatshop. When Hazel discovers that mother didn’t send her with enough money for

The War Queens by Rebecca Hazell: A Book Review

The War Queens Author: Rebecca Hazell Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Tellwell Talent Release Date: 2023 Pages: 496 Source: This book was given to me by the publicist in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: By the sixth century, the Roman Empire is already lost to tribal invasions, brutal Merovingian Franks have seized Gaul from the civilized Romanized Visigoths, and a dark age has descended across Europe. Now a deadly rivalry arises between two Merovingian queens. Brunhilda and Fredegunda are equals in beauty and intelligence, but opposite in vision and temperament. When the Franks demand a royal bride, Visigoth Brunhilda marries into a world that despises women. Suddenly thrust into power and repeatedly facing loss and grief, she seeks to revive a new Rome based on justice and prosperity. Her implacable foe, Fredegunda, is a former slave concubine who lives only for personal power. Insanely jealous of high-born Brunhilda, she uses seduction, assassination, war, and even witc