Skip to main content

Blog Tour: Sisters of Castle Leod by Elizabeth Hutchison Bernard: A Book Review

Sisters of Castle Leod by Elizabeth Hutchison Bernard

Publication Date: January 19, 2023
Black Rose Writing
Genre: Historical Fiction
Source: This book was given to me b Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.


Synopsis: Finalist - 2022 American Writing Awards

     Millions are fans of Diana Gabaldon's popular Outlander books and television series, but few know that Gabaldon's fictional Castle Leoch was inspired by a real Scottish castle, Castle Leod. The two sisters who lived there at the turn of the twentieth century were among the most fascinating and talked-about women of their era.

     Lady Sibell Mackenzie is a spiritualist, a believer in reincarnation, and a popular author of mystical romances. Petite and proper, she values tradition and duty. Her younger sister Lady Constance, swimming champion and big game hunter, is a statuesque beauty who scandalizes British society with her public displays of Greek-style barefoot dancing. The differences between the sisters escalate into conflict after Sibell inherits their late father's vast estates and the title 3rd Countess of Cromartie. But it is the birth of Sibell's daughter that sets in motion a series of bizarre and tragic events, pitting sister against sister and propelling Sibell on a desperate mission to challenge the power of fate.

     Sisters of Castle Leod, by award-winning author Elizabeth Hutchison Bernard, is the emotionally charged story of two sisters torn apart by jealousy and superstition, and the impossible leap of faith that could finally bring them together.

     My Review: Sisters of Castle Leod tells the story of Lady Sibell MacKenzie and her sister, Lady Constance Stewart-Richardson. Upon her father’s death, Sibell inherited the title of Countess of Cromartie. She was a spiritualist and a heavy believer in reincarnation. She also wrote many mystical romances. Her younger sister became a famous dancer that shocked the British public. After the birth of Lady Sibell’s daughter, the two sisters became engaged in a bitter rivalry. Would the two sisters remain enemies or would they finally reconcile?

     Sisters of Castle Leod is narrated from Lady Sibell’s perspective. Therefore, I liked Sibell more and found Constance very irritating. Lady Sibell is dutiful and adheres to the rules of the nobility. She is generally more pragmatic when it comes to dealing with the nobility. She originally did not want to inherit the title of Countess of Cromartie, but tried her best to live up to the title. Lady Sibell also struggled with depression, and I felt sorry for her. She had always been fascinated by the paranormal as a child which shaped her beliefs in spiritualism. 

     As for Constance Stewart-Richardson, I found her hard to like. I think that she was not developed well and stayed the same throughout the novel. She was very selfish and spoiled. She never seemed satisfied with her life. Even though she proved to be an annoying character, her story was very fascinating. She lived a very scandalous life and was often rebellious against society. I could see why she was gossiped about among the nobility.

     Overall, this novel was about sisterhood, choices, and spiritualism. Most of the characters were very one-dimensional. There were also some slow scenes in the novel. Despite these flaws, it was still an engrossing read on two sisters of whom I knew nothing about. Sisters of Castle Leod read like a juicy soap opera. The writing was very lyrical and it felt as if I was walking alongside Lady Sibell throughout the novel. This novel was meticulously researched. I recommend this for those that love reading about the British aristocracy and for fans of A Dress of Violet Taffeta, The It Girls, and Cavendon Hall! Sisters of Castle Leod is a stunning tribute to two sisters who were much renowned in their day but became forgotten over time. Hopefully, there will be more novels on these sisters in the future.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Available for Pre-Order
Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Books-a-Million

Praise:

     "Heartbreaking and redemptive...a thoroughly engrossing story that will have readers quickly turning the pages." -Megan Chance, bestselling author of A Splendid Ruin

     "This expertly written novel is a beautiful example of how historical facts can be researched and transformed into a work of art. To say this novel was difficult to put down would be an understatement. From the first page, I knew this would become one of my favorite historical novels." -Sublime Book Reviews

     "A magical, mystical, mesmerizing tale of two real-life noble sisters of Castle Leod, caught up in shocking passions that cast them in opposition, yet desperate for reconciliation." -Rebecca Rosenberg, triple-gold seed-winning novelist of Champagne Widows

     "With shocking revelations and twists throughout the book, the reader is never sure what each new chapter will bring. Overall, with an excellent plot and character development, this book is awe-inspiring." -Pacific Book Review

     "Whilst the historical element of this novel can easily be compared to some of the great historical novelists, like Sharon Kay Penman, the ghostly apparitions and contact with the spirit world add an original view of a woman who was, in so many ways, ahead of her time." -Readers' Favorite

     "The stage is set for sibling rivalry [in this] grand novel about two fascinating sisters of the Scottish Highlands at the turn of the 20th century." -Sheila Myers, author of The Truth of Who You Are

     "...a carefully researched historical novel with a touch of the supernatural." -Gail Ward Olmsted, author of Landscape of a Marriage: Central Park Was Only the Beginning


About the Author

 

     Elizabeth Hutchison Bernard is the author of two Amazon bestsellers: THE BEAUTY DOCTOR, a compelling historical novel steeped in mystery with strong elements of a medical thriller (Readers' Favorite), and TEMPTATION RAG: A NOVEL, a resonant novel ... about the birth and demise of ragtime ... luxuriously crafted (Publishers Weekly). Her books have been finalists for the Eric Hoffer Book Award and National Indie Excellence Awards, received a gold medallion from Book Readers Appreciation Group, and been named a historical fiction Discovered Diamond.

     Elizabeth and her family live near Phoenix, Arizona.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads


Giveaway:

     Enter to win a paperback copy of Sisters of Castle Leod by Elizabeth Hutchison Bernard!

     The giveaway is open to the US only and ends on February 3rd. You must be 18 or older to enter.

Sisters of Castle Leod


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

That Summer in Berlin by Lecia Cornwall: A Book Review

That Summer in Berlin Author: Lecia Cornwall Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Berkley Release Date: 2022 Pages: 464 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: In the summer of 1936, while the Nazis make secret plans for World War II, a courageous and daring young woman struggles to expose the lies behind the dazzling spectacle of the Berlin Olympics.       German power is rising again, threatening a war that will be even worse than the last one. The English aristocracy turns to an age-old institution to stave off war and strengthen political bonds—marriage. Debutantes flock to Germany, including Viviane Alden. On holiday with her sister during the 1936 Berlin Olympics, Viviane’s true purpose is more clandestine. While many in England want to appease Hitler, others seek to prove Germany is rearming. But they need evidence, photographs to tell the tale, and Viviane is a genius with her trusty Leica. And who would suspect a pretty, young tourist taking hol