Skip to main content

Hannah: Mother of a Prophet by H. B. Moore: A Book Review

Hannah: Mother of a Prophet
Author: H.B. Moore
Genre: Christian, Historical Fiction, Biblical Fiction
Publisher: Covenant Communications
Release Date: 2022
Pages: 256
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: Journey back in time to the dusty roads of Shiloh and witness anew the story of Hannah and her son, Samuel. 


      Hannah is no longer a young woman. In the twilight of her life, she holds her memories close to her heart. Above all, she treasures the miracle of conceiving Samuel after years of barrenness and the promise she made to the Lord to release her child to the high priest Eli’s care to train and serve in the temple. But Samuel’s story does not end at the gates of the temple and neither does his family’s enduring legacy of faith, patience, and deliverance. In this richly detailed and sweeping fictional account of Samuel’s life as a prophet in the making, discover how his mother, Hannah, made impossible decisions guided by her deep and abiding love of God.


My Review: Hannah tells the story of the mother of Samuel the Prophet. For many years, Hannah has been barren. Elkanah, her husband, is forced to take a second wife named Peninnah. Peninnah bears him many children. Through her faith with God, Hannah finally bears a son. 


     Hannah’s story has been one of my favorite stories in the Bible. It is a true testament of faith. Hannah, who has been barren for decades, has finally produced a son who would become one of God's greatest prophets. Therefore, I was excited to read H. B. Moore’s version of Hannah and experience a truly moving tale. This novel did not disappoint and was in for an emotional ride.


     Hannah is a very admirable woman. She goes through many hardships and her faith is often tested. Through every obstacle, she becomes a stronger woman and is eventually rewarded. On every page, I felt Hannah’s pain. I could feel her heartbreak as Peninnah gives her husband the children she so desires. I could feel her frustration as she wondered if she would ever have children. It is only when she gives herself up to God that she is able to find her own peace. Thus, Hannah was very relatable and human. Her story made me cry many times. However, her ending was very satisfying and made me smile.


     Overall, this novel is about faith, perseverance, and love. The message of the story is that God will test your faith before he blesses you. I found all of the characters to be fully fleshed out and realistic. I love the relationship between Elkanah and Hannah. They had a very touching love story. I thought the story was very well-written and was rich in detail. I also thought that it was a faithful retelling of the Biblical story. The only thing I did not like about this book was that it had some scenes that I thought were unnecessary. Still, it was a very short and heart-wrenching read! Mrs. Moore has written a stunning inspirational novel, and I can’t wait to read her take on a Biblical figure. I recommend this novel for fans of A Passionate Hope, The Song of Hannah, and Hannah!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

That Summer in Berlin by Lecia Cornwall: A Book Review

That Summer in Berlin Author: Lecia Cornwall Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Berkley Release Date: 2022 Pages: 464 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: In the summer of 1936, while the Nazis make secret plans for World War II, a courageous and daring young woman struggles to expose the lies behind the dazzling spectacle of the Berlin Olympics.       German power is rising again, threatening a war that will be even worse than the last one. The English aristocracy turns to an age-old institution to stave off war and strengthen political bonds—marriage. Debutantes flock to Germany, including Viviane Alden. On holiday with her sister during the 1936 Berlin Olympics, Viviane’s true purpose is more clandestine. While many in England want to appease Hitler, others seek to prove Germany is rearming. But they need evidence, photographs to tell the tale, and Viviane is a genius with her trusty Leica. And who would suspect a pretty, young tourist taking hol