Skip to main content

Hannah: Mother of a Prophet by H. B. Moore: A Book Review

Hannah: Mother of a Prophet
Author: H.B. Moore
Genre: Christian, Historical Fiction, Biblical Fiction
Publisher: Covenant Communications
Release Date: 2022
Pages: 256
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: Journey back in time to the dusty roads of Shiloh and witness anew the story of Hannah and her son, Samuel. 


      Hannah is no longer a young woman. In the twilight of her life, she holds her memories close to her heart. Above all, she treasures the miracle of conceiving Samuel after years of barrenness and the promise she made to the Lord to release her child to the high priest Eli’s care to train and serve in the temple. But Samuel’s story does not end at the gates of the temple and neither does his family’s enduring legacy of faith, patience, and deliverance. In this richly detailed and sweeping fictional account of Samuel’s life as a prophet in the making, discover how his mother, Hannah, made impossible decisions guided by her deep and abiding love of God.


My Review: Hannah tells the story of the mother of Samuel the Prophet. For many years, Hannah has been barren. Elkanah, her husband, is forced to take a second wife named Peninnah. Peninnah bears him many children. Through her faith with God, Hannah finally bears a son. 


     Hannah’s story has been one of my favorite stories in the Bible. It is a true testament of faith. Hannah, who has been barren for decades, has finally produced a son who would become one of God's greatest prophets. Therefore, I was excited to read H. B. Moore’s version of Hannah and experience a truly moving tale. This novel did not disappoint and was in for an emotional ride.


     Hannah is a very admirable woman. She goes through many hardships and her faith is often tested. Through every obstacle, she becomes a stronger woman and is eventually rewarded. On every page, I felt Hannah’s pain. I could feel her heartbreak as Peninnah gives her husband the children she so desires. I could feel her frustration as she wondered if she would ever have children. It is only when she gives herself up to God that she is able to find her own peace. Thus, Hannah was very relatable and human. Her story made me cry many times. However, her ending was very satisfying and made me smile.


     Overall, this novel is about faith, perseverance, and love. The message of the story is that God will test your faith before he blesses you. I found all of the characters to be fully fleshed out and realistic. I love the relationship between Elkanah and Hannah. They had a very touching love story. I thought the story was very well-written and was rich in detail. I also thought that it was a faithful retelling of the Biblical story. The only thing I did not like about this book was that it had some scenes that I thought were unnecessary. Still, it was a very short and heart-wrenching read! Mrs. Moore has written a stunning inspirational novel, and I can’t wait to read her take on a Biblical figure. I recommend this novel for fans of A Passionate Hope, The Song of Hannah, and Hannah!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,

Blog Tour: Kathy Fischer-Brown and A Book Review of Lord Esterleigh's Daughter ( Book 1 of the Serpent Tooth Trilogy)

Please join Kathy Fischer-Brown as she tours virtually for her Serpent's Tooth trilogy - Lord Esterleigh's Daughter, Courting the Devil, & The Partisan’s Wife - and her novel Winter Fire. Blog tour includes a chance to win a $20 Amazon Gift Card. See below to enter. Lord Esterleigh’s Daughter: Book 1, The Serpent’s Tooth trilogy Publication Date: June 13, 2012 Publisher: Books We Love Ltd. Formats: eBook, Paperback Pages: 346 Source: This book was given to me as part of the Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tour   Synposis:  As a child, Anne Fairfield dreams of the father she never knew, the hero who died fighting the French and their Indian allies in a land across the sea. Her mother’s stories, and fantasies of her own devising, sustain and nurture her through a poor and lonely existence. Until one winter night, a strange man comes to call, and the life she has known comes crashing down like shattered glass. Forced to confront sordid truths, secrets and lies, t