Skip to main content

Land of Silence by Tessa Afshar: A Book Review

Land of Silence
Author: Tessa Afshar
Genre: Historical Fiction, Christian, Biblical Fiction
Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers
Release Date: 2016
Pages: 382
Source: My State Public Library

Synopsis: Before Christ called her daughter . . .


     Before she stole healing by touching the hem of his garment . . .


     Elianna is a young girl crushed by guilt. After her only brother is killed while in her care, Elianna tries to earn forgiveness by working for her father’s textile trade and caring for her family. When another tragedy places Elianna in sole charge of the business, her talent for design brings enormous success, but never the absolution she longs for. As her world unravels, she breaks off her betrothal to the only man she will ever love. Then illness strikes, isolating Elianna from everyone, stripping everything she has left.


     No physician can cure her. No end is in sight. Until she hears whispers of a man whose mere touch can heal. After so many years of suffering and disappointment, is it possible that one man could redeem the wounds of body . . . and soul?


     My Review: Land of Silence tells the story of the woman who touched Jesus' garment. Elianna has gone through a series of hardships. Her brother is dead, her father is cold to her, and her betrothal to the man she loves is broken. Yet that is not the last of her hardships. Elianna has an illness that isolated her from everyone. She has been to every capable physician but they cannot cure her. When Elianna hears about the miracles of Jesus of Nazareth, she starts to believe he could heal her body and her soul.


     Elianna was a very sympathetic protagonist. She was a woman who was plagued with guilt. Her father’s indifference to her leaves a coldness in her heart. She does not feel that she is worthy of love. Throughout the course of the novel, she learns to forgive herself and be grateful for her loved ones. She must also forgive those who have done her wrong. Therefore, I loved reading how Elianna gradually opens her heart and finds grace.


     Overall, this novel is about guilt, friendship, and love. The message of this is to love one another, including your enemy. I love all the characters in this novel, especially Joanna, Chuza, and Ethan. I did think that the villain was unnecessary in the story. Nevertheless, I was moved by Elianna’s poignant and heart-wrenching journey! Land of Silence was a very tough read! There were times I had to put the book down because of the tragedies that occurred in Elianna’s life. However, I found the ending to be very rewarding and was worth all my tears! Land of Silence was a very inspiring and moving read that will enthrall you from the first page! It is definitely a must-read for those who love Christian fiction! I have to say that this novel is one of Mrs. Afshar’s best novels that she has written! I recommend this for fans of The Woman Who Dared Touch Jesus, The Healer’s Touch, and Just One Touch


Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


  Here is a video of the author talking about her book, Land of Silence:


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,