Skip to main content

The Hidden Prince by Tessa Afshar: A Book Review

The Hidden Prince
Author: Tessa Afshar
Genre: Historical Fiction, Christian, Biblical Fiction, Romance
Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers
Release Date: 2022
Pages: 416
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: From the bestselling author of Jewel of the Nile comes the thrilling tale of a woman who feels she has no future but soon discovers the fate of nations may rest in her hands.


     The beloved daughter of Jewish captives in Babylon, Keren is sold into Daniel’s household to help her family survive. She becomes Daniel’s most trusted scribe, while taking lessons and swordsmanship training alongside Daniel’s sons and their best friend, Jared.


     But after a tragic accident changes the course of her life, Keren finds herself in a foreign country, charged with a mysterious task: teaching a shepherd boy how to become a lord. When she overhears whispers that hint at his true identity, she realizes she must protect him from the schemes of a bloodthirsty king.


     Jared cannot forgive Keren. Still, he finds himself traveling over mountains to fetch her back to the safety of home. When he discovers the secret identity of Keren’s pupil, Jared knows he must help protect him. Love battles bitterness as they flee from the king’s agents, trying to save the boy who could one day deliver their people from captivity.      


     My Review: The Hidden Prince retells the early life of King Cyrus the Great. The story is told from the perspective of Keren. She is a Jewish captive in Babylon who was sold to Daniel. Because of her intelligence, she becomes Daniel’s scribe. One day, she accidentally injures her childhood friend and aristocrat named Jared. Keren is sent to Ecbatana and becomes a tutor to a young prince named Cyrus who is disguised as a shepherd. Could Keren help Cyrus fulfill his destiny as the promised king who helped free the Jews from captivity?


     Keren is a fascinating protagonist. She is very flawed. She can be jealous and possessive at times. She also feels like she is always lacking. However, I loved her intelligence and tomboyish personality. I also love her friendship with Cyrus. She is willing to risk her life to save him. Thus, she was a very lovable character, and I rooted for Karen to find her own happiness.


     I also loved Jared as Keren’s love interest. He could not forgive Keren for injuring him. Throughout the course of the novel, he has to struggle with his wound as well as forgiving Keren who had deeply hurt him. He has to move beyond his pain and grow to love Karen for who she is. Jared eventually accepts Keren for her strengths and her weaknesses. Thus, I really admired how he grew as a character. I thought that he was the perfect match for Keren.


      Overall, this novel is about friendship, forgiveness, and grace. The message of this book is to always trust your instincts and that God always has a plan. I loved all the characters. They seemed to be very realistic. I also loved Mrs. Afshar’s eloquent prose! The story started out very slow. However, I was soon enmeshed in Mrs. Afshar’s world of ancient Babylon! The Hidden Prince is a provocative and inspiring novel that will captivate you from the first page! I can’t wait to read the sequel, The Peasant King, which comes out later this year! I recommend The Hidden Prince for fans of Mesu Andrews, Rachael C. Duncan, and Connilyn Cossette!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Interview with Ezra Harker Shaw

     Today, I have the pleasure of interviewing Ezra Harker Shaw. Ezra Harker Shaw is the author of the upcoming novel, The Aziola's Cry , which will be released on May 7, 2024.   Ezra Harker Shaw gives us insights into the lives of two legendary figures, Percy and Mary Shelley. These two lovers lived a life of literature and love while being on the run from a world that has often misunderstood them! Thank you, Ezra Harker Shaw! What drew your interest in the love story of Mary and Percy Shelley? When I was about sixteen years old, I lived in Dublin. I'd dropped out of school and I was drifting without any real direction in my life. I used to wander down Nassau street in the mornings on my way to the internet cafe where I would write to my friends and work on stories. There was a lovely little bookshop I often used to pop into, and one day, quite on a whim, I bought a thin Dover Thrift edition of Percy Shelley's poems for 2€.  Over the years I kept dipping into it: I