Skip to main content

The Woman with the Cure by Lynn Cullen: A Book Review

The Woman with the Cure

Author: Lynn Cullen

Genre: Historical Fiction

Publisher: Berkley

Release Date: February 21, 2023

Pages: 430

Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: She gave up everything — and changed the world.


     A riveting novel based on the true story of the woman who stopped a pandemic, from the bestselling author of Mrs. Poe.

 

     In 1940s and ’50s America, polio is as dreaded as the atomic bomb. No one’s life is untouched by this disease that kills or paralyzes its victims, particularly children. Outbreaks of the virus across the country regularly put American cities in lockdown. Some of the world’s best minds are engaged in the race to find a vaccine. The man who succeeds will be a god.

 

     But Dorothy Horstmann is not focused on beating her colleagues to the vaccine. She just wants the world to have a cure. Applying the same determination that lifted her from a humble background as the daughter of immigrants, to becoming a doctor –often the only woman in the room--she hunts down the monster where it lurks: in the blood.

 

     This discovery of hers, and an error by a competitor, catapults her closest colleague to a lead in the race. When his chance to win comes on a worldwide scale, she is asked to sink or validate his vaccine—and to decide what is forgivable, and how much should be sacrificed, in pursuit of the cure.

    

     My Review: Dr. Dorothy M. Horstmann was an epidemiologist who contributed to the polio vaccine. The Woman with the Cure attempts to shed light on this little known woman who helped pave the way for great endeavors. The polio outbreak has spread throughout the country and has put America into lockdown. It had paralyzed and killed its victims, in particular children. Dorothy wishes to find a cure to heal these victims. She becomes a participant in the pursuit of a vaccine. However, Dorothy learns that she must make sacrifices in order to find a cure.


     I had never heard of Dr. Dorothy M. Horstmann before. Thus, I was eager to learn about her story. However, Dorothy was a flat character. She felt emotionally distant, and I did not feel connected to her anyway. I think this book should have been told in first person rather than third. Instead, I am told of her emotions rather than showing her emotions on the page. Therefore, she was not an engaging character. Still, I admired her compassion and her willingness to help others. I wished she was a better written character because she seemed like an intelligent and good person.


     Overall, this novel is about ambitions, sacrifices, and choices. The other characters, especially the men, seemed to be very one-dimensional. The love triangle was underwhelming. Despite these flaws, I did like Mrs. Cullen's writing style as well as the setting that Dorothy has visited. I also like how even though the novel was set in the 1940s and 1950s, it was very reminiscent of today with COVID-19 pandemic. The Woman with the Cure illuminates the life of a significant but largely overlooked woman! It has inspired me to do more research on her! I recommend this novel for fans of The Only Woman in the Room, The Invincible Miss Cust, and Half Life!


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Interview with Ezra Harker Shaw

     Today, I have the pleasure of interviewing Ezra Harker Shaw. Ezra Harker Shaw is the author of the upcoming novel, The Aziola's Cry , which will be released on May 7, 2024.   Ezra Harker Shaw gives us insights into the lives of two legendary figures, Percy and Mary Shelley. These two lovers lived a life of literature and love while being on the run from a world that has often misunderstood them! Thank you, Ezra Harker Shaw! What drew your interest in the love story of Mary and Percy Shelley? When I was about sixteen years old, I lived in Dublin. I'd dropped out of school and I was drifting without any real direction in my life. I used to wander down Nassau street in the mornings on my way to the internet cafe where I would write to my friends and work on stories. There was a lovely little bookshop I often used to pop into, and one day, quite on a whim, I bought a thin Dover Thrift edition of Percy Shelley's poems for 2€.  Over the years I kept dipping into it: I