Skip to main content

Thief of Corinth by Tessa Afshar: A Book Review

Thief of Corinth

Author: Tessa Afshar

Genre: Historical Fiction, Christian, Biblical Fiction

Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers

Release Date: 2018

Pages: 400

Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: First-century Corinth is a city teeming with commerce and charm. It’s also filled with danger and corruption―the perfect setting for Ariadne’s greatest adventure.


    After years spent living with her mother and oppressive grandfather in Athens, Ariadne runs away to her father’s home in Corinth, only to discover the perilous secret that destroyed his marriage: though a Greek of high birth, Galenos is the infamous thief who has been robbing the city’s corrupt of their ill-gotten gains.


     Desperate to keep him safe, Ariadne risks her good name, her freedom, and the love of the man she adores to become her father’s apprentice. As her unusual athletic ability leads her into dangerous exploits, Ariadne discovers that she secretly revels in playing with fire. But when the wrong person discovers their secret, Ariadne and her father find their future―and very lives―hanging in the balance.


     When they befriend a Jewish rabbi named Paul, they realize that his radical message challenges everything they’ve fought to build, yet offers something neither dared hope for.


     My Review: Thief of Corinth is a gender-bent retelling of Robin Hood set during Paul of Tarsus’s eighteen months in Corinth. When her mother and grandfather force her to marry a cruel high-born man in Athens, Ariadne flees with her foster brother, Theo, to her father’s home in Corinth. Once she arrives, she learns that her father has been stealing from the rich. In order to help her father through financial difficulties, Ariadne decides to become a willing partner. When she meets Paul of Tarsus, Ariadne becomes conflicted with stealing. Could Ariadne give up her crime of theft and transform herself to become a more noble person?


    I found Ariadne to be a very fun character. She is very tomboyish. I also love her athletic skills. She can also be very judgmental at times. I did not like Ariadne’s passion for stealing. Nevertheless, I liked how she changed into a better person over the course of the story. I also loved her friendship with Paul of Tarsus and how he helped her form a deeper understanding with God. Thus, Ariadne was a complicated protagonist.


     Overall, this novel is about love, sacrifice, and change. The message of this story is that to love God, one has to make a sacrifice. I did like all the characters, and I especially love the friendships that Ariadne made along the way. I found the romance to be very underwhelming. It was not as developed as her other books. This may be because romance was not the sole focus of this novel. Still, I would have liked a more developed love interest. Nevertheless, I liked how Mrs. Afshar made ancient Corinth come alive! The Thief of Corinth was an entertaining take of Robin Hood! It was a very light and fast-paced read! I recommend this for fans of Dauntless, The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest, and A Daring Sacrifice!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,