Skip to main content

Blog Tour: A Daughter's Journey by Myra Lee Glass: A Book Review

 


Book Details:


Book Title:  A Daughter's Journey by Myra Lee Glass
Category:  YA Fiction (Ages 13-17),  132 pages
GenreYA Historical Fiction / Adventure
PublisherColeche Press
Release date:   Feb 2023
Source: This book was given to me by iRead Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.
Content RatingG: Written for a high school school project :) by a highschooler

Book Description:

     The year is 1938 and a family in the small South Carolina town of Beaufort faces serious adversity. After the birth of her long-awaited son, Mary Banks dives into a dark postpartum period, throwing her into a deep depression. Thinking that her sister, Rose, is offering her a helping hand, Mary leaves her family and goes to Boston in search of a medical cure, not to be heard from again.

​     Where is Mary Banks? What has Rose done with the much-loved mother and wife of the Banks family? Finally, Mary’s 15-year-old daughter, Estelle can wait no longer. She gathers her wits and her courage and without a word, runs off to heroically rescue her beloved mother in faraway Boston. This is where the adventure begins……

My Review:

Shortly after Estelle has a new brother, her mother becomes depressed. Her mother suddenly abandons her and her family. Estelle is heartbroken that her mother has left and resolves to find her. She tracks her to Boston to persuade her mother to come back home. However, her mother does not want to be found. Could Estelle find her mother and bring her home?


Estelle is a very likable protagonist. I love her tender relationship with her mother. Estelle is a very strong young woman, but reckless. She leaves to find her mother without letting her father know her whereabouts. She can also be very sneaky. Despite these flaws, I love her steely determination to continue on her quest even when her hopes are constantly dashed. Thus, Estelle was a very compelling character, and I rooted for her to find her mother.


Overall, this novel is about depression, family, and friendship. I liked the friends that Estelle made along her journey. They cared for Estelle and helped her on her mission. There also seemed to be hints of a blossoming romance. I also loved Estelle’s father, who loved his wife and children. Estelle’s mother was a very tragic character, and I sympathized with her. I loved the historical details in the novel. I liked the 1930s Southern idyllic setting of South Carolina and the urban setting of Boston. I did not like the one-dimensional villain because she needed more explanation of why she was always against Estelle. I also thought that the ending was rushed and seemed incomplete. Hopefully, there will be a sequel so that there will be a better resolution. I am keeping my fingers crossed! A Daughter’s Journey was a very poignant and emotional read! I recommend this story for fans of When the World Was Ours, The Downstairs Girl, and The Weight of Our Sky!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


Buy the Book:
Amazon 
add to goodreads

Meet the Author:

     Myra Lee Glass is a young adult author of A Daughter's Journey. She lives in Texas with her parents and sister.











Enter the Giveaway:

A DAUGHTER'S JOURNEY by Myra Lee Glass Book Tour Giveaway



Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Interview with Ezra Harker Shaw

     Today, I have the pleasure of interviewing Ezra Harker Shaw. Ezra Harker Shaw is the author of the upcoming novel, The Aziola's Cry , which will be released on May 7, 2024.   Ezra Harker Shaw gives us insights into the lives of two legendary figures, Percy and Mary Shelley. These two lovers lived a life of literature and love while being on the run from a world that has often misunderstood them! Thank you, Ezra Harker Shaw! What drew your interest in the love story of Mary and Percy Shelley? When I was about sixteen years old, I lived in Dublin. I'd dropped out of school and I was drifting without any real direction in my life. I used to wander down Nassau street in the mornings on my way to the internet cafe where I would write to my friends and work on stories. There was a lovely little bookshop I often used to pop into, and one day, quite on a whim, I bought a thin Dover Thrift edition of Percy Shelley's poems for 2€.  Over the years I kept dipping into it: I