Skip to main content

Harvest of Rubies (Harvest of Rubies #1) by Tessa Afshar: A Book Review

Harvest of Rubies (Harvest of Rubies #1)
Author: Tessa Afshar
Genre: Historical Fiction, Christian, Biblical Fiction
Publisher: River North
Release Date: 2012
Pages: 373
Source: My State Public Library

Synopsis: The prophet Nehemiah's cousin can speak numerous languages, keep complex accounts, write on rolls of parchment and tablets of clay, and solve great mysteries. There is only one problem: she's a woman in a man's court.

    In her early childhood years, Sarah experienced the death of her mother and her father's subsequent emotional distance, and she came to two conclusions: God does not care about me, and my accomplishments are the measure of my worth.


     Catapulted into the center of the Persian court, Sarah is working too many hours, rubbing elbows with royalty, and solving intrigues for the Queen. Ironically, it isn't failure—but success—that causes Sarah to lose her only source of external validation.


     Sarah soon learns that she has something of worth to offer beyond her ability with languages and sums; her very being proves to be a blessing to others, particularly the aristocrat Darius, whom she is given to in marriage.


      Sarah and Darius' story continues in Harvest of Gold. Darius may be able to learn to love his wife, but can he ever learn to trust Sarah and her Lord?


     My Review: Harvest of Rubies tells the story of the Prophet Nehemiah’s cousin. Sarah is gifted with reading and writing. Her accomplishments lead her to become the queen of Persia’s scribe. When her skills save the queen, the queen rewards her with a princely husband. However, Sarah has publicly humiliated her husband which causes him to have a grudge against her. Could Sarah grow to care and love for her husband?


     Sarah was a fun character. She was very relatable. I loved her sense of humor. She was also very intelligent and tomboyish. I also loved her willingness to care for others. Her kindness leads her to be admired by others. Therefore, Sarah was a very enjoyable character. I could not wait for her to have her own happy ending. Thus, Sarah was a very unconventional woman who defied societal expectations of Persian royalty.


     Overall, this novel is about belonging, change, and healing. The message of this book is to trust in God. All the characters seemed very realistic and were likable. My favorite aspect of this novel was Sarah's friendship with the queen of Persia. The queen cared about Sarah which is why she found a suitable husband for her. I also liked Sarah’s relationship with her husband, Darius. While her romance was not as sweet as ones in Mrs. Afshar’s other novels, I realized that it may grow stronger in the sequel, Harvest of Gold. Therefore, I cannot wait to read the sequel so that there will be a more satisfying romance! There were times in which the novel seemed very slow. Nevertheless, Harvest of Rubies is steeped with meticulous historical details of the Babylonian empire. Harvest of Rubies is a light romance with a dash of mystery that will leave readers hungry for more! I recommend this for fans of Tracy L. Higley, Diana Wallis Taylor, and Angela Elwell Hunt!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Here is the official book trailer for Harvest of Rubies:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,