Skip to main content

And They Called It Camelot: A Novel of Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy Onassis by Stephanie Marie Thornton: A Book Review

And They Called It Camelot: A Novel of Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy Onassis
Author: Stephanie Marie Thornton
Genre: Historical Fiction

Publisher: Berkley

Release Date: 2020

Pages: 480

Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: An intimate portrait of the life of Jackie O…

 

      Few of us can claim to be the authors of our fate. Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy knows no other choice. With the eyes of the world watching, Jackie uses her effortless charm and keen intelligence to carve a place for herself among the men of history and weave a fairy tale for the American people, embodying a senator’s wife, a devoted mother, a First Lady—a queen in her own right.

 

      But all reigns must come to an end. Once JFK travels to Dallas and the clock ticks down those thousand days of magic in Camelot, Jackie is forced to pick up the ruined fragments of her life and forge herself into a new identity that is all her own, that of an American legend.


      My Review: Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis was one of America’s most fashionable First Ladies. She was also a symbol of America’s strength on the dark day when her husband, John F. Kennedy was assassinated. In this historical retelling of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis’s life, Jackie is shown as a wife, mother and ultimately a survivor.


     And They Called It Camelot is a very personal and intimate look at Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis. In this novel, it felt like the First Lady’s own autobiography. The reader got to delve into her head as she goes through her two marriages with her husbands- John F. Kennedy and Aristotle Onassis. Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis was a strong character and had to go through many personal tragedies. She lost three of her children. Both of her husbands were unfaithful to them, and she had to bury them. My heart ached for her each time she had to face a loss. However, I admired her courage to rouse herself out of grief to support her own children. Her children were her strengths. Thus, Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis was mostly a wife and a mother first and was America’s First Lady second. She was also a woman of perseverance.


      Overall, this novel was an in-depth psyche of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis. All the characters were very complex. I thought Mrs. Thornton depicted the infamous historical figures very well, especially John F. Kennedy. He was shown as a very complex person who frequently reverted to his bachelor’s ways. My favorite aspect of this novel was Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis’s relationship with Bobby Kennedy. And They Called It Camelot was a very engrossing read from the first page till the last! Even though it is long, it was a novel that I did not want to end! The novel was very fast-paced that begins by detailing her courtship with John F. Kennedy! This novel will linger with you long after you have finished reading the last page! I recommend this novel for fans of The Kennedy Debutante, The Lost Diary of M, and The Pink Suit! And They Called It Camelot is a symptom banquet for anyone that loves reading about America’s First Ladies!


Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

That Summer in Berlin by Lecia Cornwall: A Book Review

That Summer in Berlin Author: Lecia Cornwall Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Berkley Release Date: 2022 Pages: 464 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: In the summer of 1936, while the Nazis make secret plans for World War II, a courageous and daring young woman struggles to expose the lies behind the dazzling spectacle of the Berlin Olympics.       German power is rising again, threatening a war that will be even worse than the last one. The English aristocracy turns to an age-old institution to stave off war and strengthen political bonds—marriage. Debutantes flock to Germany, including Viviane Alden. On holiday with her sister during the 1936 Berlin Olympics, Viviane’s true purpose is more clandestine. While many in England want to appease Hitler, others seek to prove Germany is rearming. But they need evidence, photographs to tell the tale, and Viviane is a genius with her trusty Leica. And who would suspect a pretty, young tourist taking hol