Skip to main content

Blog Tour: Mirror Girls by Kelly McWilliams

     I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the MIRROR GIRLS by Kelly McWilliams Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

 About The Book:

Title: MIRROR GIRLS

Author: Kelly McWilliams

Pub. Date: February 8, 2022

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, Audiobook

Pages: 320

Find it: GoodreadsAmazon, Kindle, Audible, B&NiBooks, KoboTBD, Bookshop.org

Synopsis: A thrilling gothic horror novel about biracial twin sisters separated at birth, perfect for fans of Lovecraft Country and The Vanishing Half

     As infants, twin sisters Charlie Yates and Magnolia Heathwood were secretly separated after the brutal lynching of their parents, who died for loving across the color line. Now, at the dawn of the Civil Rights Movement, Charlie is a young Black organizer in Harlem, while white-passing Magnolia is the heiress to a cotton plantation in rural Georgia. 

     Magnolia knows nothing of her racial heritage, but secrets are hard to keep in a town haunted by the ghosts of its slave-holding past. When Magnolia finally learns the truth, her reflection mysteriously disappears from mirrors—the sign of a terrible curse. Meanwhile, in Harlem, Charlie's beloved grandmother falls ill. Her final wish is to be buried back home in Georgia—and, unbeknownst to Charlie, to see her long-lost granddaughter, Magnolia Heathwood, one last time. So Charlie travels into the Deep South, confronting the land of her worst nightmares—and Jim Crow segregation.

     The sisters reunite as teenagers in the deeply haunted town of Eureka, Georgia, where ghosts linger centuries after their time and dangers lurk behind every mirror. They couldn’t be more different, but they will need each other to put the hauntings of the past to rest, to break the mirrors’ deadly curse—and to discover the meaning of sisterhood in a racially divided land.

Reviews:

      "Steeped in atmosphere, equal parts ghost and sororal love story, McWilliams has written a pitch-perfect southern gothic thriller about race, family, and what it means to call a place home."―Christina Hammonds Reed, award-winning author of The Black Kids

     "A moving story about sisterhood and perseverance in the face of a society that tells Black girls they are worthless."―Booklist

      “MIRROR GIRLS is a spine-tingling, empowering look at justice and civil action that urges readers to be aware, to be true to themselves and to take action. As Magnolia observes, ‘As twin sisters, white and Black, we are a symbol of coming victory. A promise of change.’”―BookPage, starred review

      "A spooky Southern gothic ghost story. "―BCCB

 About Kelly McWilliams:


     Kelly McWilliams is a mixed-race writer. She is the author of Doormat and Agnes at the End of the World. She lives in Seattle with her family.

 

Website |  Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads | Amazon | BookBub

 




Giveaway Details:

     3 winners will receive a finished copy of MIRROR GIRLS, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

2/7/2022

The Reading Devil

Excerpt

2/7/2022

BookHounds YA

Excerpt

2/8/2022

For the Love of KidLit

Excerpt

2/8/2022

Rajiv's Reviews

Review

2/9/2022

More Books Please blog

Review

2/9/2022

OneMoreExclamation

Review

2/10/2022

Wishful Endings

Review

2/10/2022

Kait Plus Books

Review

2/11/2022

@simplybeccamee

Review

2/11/2022

The Book Nut

Review

Week Two:

2/14/2022

A Court of Coffee and Books

Review

2/14/2022

Stuck in the Stacks

Review

2/15/2022

Do You Dog-ear?

Review

2/15/2022

onemused

Review

2/16/2022

The Momma Spot

Review

2/16/2022

celiamcmahonreads

Review

2/17/2022

History from a Woman’s Perspective

Spotlight

2/17/2022

@drewsim12

Review

2/18/2022

@lexijava

Review

2/18/2022

@momfluenster

Review


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: The Portraitist: A Novel of Adelaide Labille-Guiard by Susanne Dunlap

The Portraitist: A Novel of Adelaide Labille-Guiard by Susanne Dunlap Publication Date: August 30, 2022 She Writes Press Genre: Historical Fiction Synopsis: Based on a true story, this is the tale of Adélaïde Labille-Guiard’s fight to take her rightful place in the competitive art world of eighteenth-century Paris.     With a beautiful rival who’s better connected and better trained than she is, Adélaïde faces an uphill battle. Her love affair with her young instructor in oil painting gives rise to suspicions that he touches up her work, and her decision to make much-needed money by executing erotic pastels threatens to create as many problems as it solves. Meanwhile, her rival goes from strength to strength, becoming Marie Antoinette’s official portraitist and gaining entrance to the elite Académie Royale at the same time as Adélaïde.      When at last Adélaïde earns her own royal appointment and receives a massive commission from a member of the royal family, the timing couldn

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Blog Tour: The Perilous Journey of the Not So Innocuous Girl ( Book #1) by Leigh Statham: A Book Review

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the THE PERILOUS JOURNEY OF THE NOT SO INNOCUOUS GIRL by Leigh Statham Blog Tour hosted by  Rockstar Book Tours . Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!   About The Book: THE PERILOUS JOURNEY OF THE NOT SO INNOCUOUS GIRL (The Perilous Journey of the Not So Innocuous Girl #1) Author:  Leigh Statham Pub. Date:  September 13, 2022 Publisher:  Cricket Press, LLC Genre : Steampunk, Historical Fiction, Adventure, YA Formats:  Paperback, eBook Pages:  286 Find it:   Goodreads ,  Amazon , Kindle , B&N , TBD , Bookshop.org Synopsis:  This brand new edition of the book contains updated historical facts, an amazing new cover, and extra punk for your steam machines!      Lady Marguerite lives a life most 17th-century French girls can only dream of: money, designer dresses, suitors, and a secure future. Except she can't quite commit to a life of dull luxury and she suspects she may be falling for her best friend, Claud