Skip to main content

Once in a Blood Moon by Dorothea Hubble Bonneau

 

Once in a Blood Moon
Author: Dorothea Hubble Bonneau

Genre: Historical Fiction

Publisher: Acorn Publishing

Release Date: 2020

Pages: 335

Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: Heaven Hill Plantation, upriver from Georgetown, South Carolina, 1807: Sixteen-year-old Alexandra Degambia walks a tightrope stretched between her parents’ ambitions. Her father, a prosperous planter, want to preserve the heritage of his African ancestors. But her mother, who can pass for white, seeks to distance herself from her African roots and position herself in the elite society of wealthy free-women-of-color. Alexandra dreams of establishing her own place in the world as an accomplished violinist. She assumes her talent and her family’s wealth will pave her way to success. When her life spirals into a life-or-death struggle, she learns that the future is uncertain. Sometimes destiny has its own plans.


     My Review: Alexandra is the daughter of a wealthy African-American plantation owner. Her mother is a mixed-blood socialite who could pass for white. Alexandra’s life in the Antebellum South seems idyll. Her father is on the verge of being made legally white, and she dreams of becoming a renowned violinist. However, her life takes a drastic turn when her father is murdered and her mother dies. Alexandra is made a slave. One of the people she befriends is a boy named John Fowler, who is a white slave. Can Alexandra find a way to free herself and John Fowler from a life of slavery?


Alexandra is an engaging protagonist. I found it interesting that even though they were an African-American family they kept slaves, and her mother treated them harshly. However, Alexandra was very caring to the slaves and even establishes a friendship with one of them. Alexandra is also very clever and resourceful. She also is an accomplished musician and has a passion for music. Her cleverness and accomplishments would become very beneficial to her when she becomes a slave. Alexandra is also a character who goes through many tragedies and obstacles, but she strives to overcome them to find her own happiness. Thus, I could help but root for her to find a life outside of slavery. I also loved Alexandra’s friendship with John Fowler, a white slave. I had never heard of John Fowler in history before. Yet, this novel opened my eyes to John Fowler and his dangerous escape to freedom.


Overall, this novel is about slavery, friendship, and freedom. I found all the characters to be very realistic and complex. Once in a Blood Moon is a very engaging novel that sheds light on a little known piece of history. The novel is very fast-paced and thought-provoking. The only thing I did not like about the book was that there were a few loose ends. Still, Once in a Blood Moon is a breathtaking and meticulously researched novel about a woman who fights for those she loves! I recommend this book for fans of Beverly Jenkins, Alyssa Cole, and Barbara Chase-Riboud! Once in a Blood Moon will be sure to stay with you long after you’ve read the last page!


Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: The Portraitist: A Novel of Adelaide Labille-Guiard by Susanne Dunlap

The Portraitist: A Novel of Adelaide Labille-Guiard by Susanne Dunlap Publication Date: August 30, 2022 She Writes Press Genre: Historical Fiction Synopsis: Based on a true story, this is the tale of Adélaïde Labille-Guiard’s fight to take her rightful place in the competitive art world of eighteenth-century Paris.     With a beautiful rival who’s better connected and better trained than she is, Adélaïde faces an uphill battle. Her love affair with her young instructor in oil painting gives rise to suspicions that he touches up her work, and her decision to make much-needed money by executing erotic pastels threatens to create as many problems as it solves. Meanwhile, her rival goes from strength to strength, becoming Marie Antoinette’s official portraitist and gaining entrance to the elite Académie Royale at the same time as Adélaïde.      When at last Adélaïde earns her own royal appointment and receives a massive commission from a member of the royal family, the timing couldn

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Blog Tour: The Perilous Journey of the Not So Innocuous Girl ( Book #1) by Leigh Statham: A Book Review

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the THE PERILOUS JOURNEY OF THE NOT SO INNOCUOUS GIRL by Leigh Statham Blog Tour hosted by  Rockstar Book Tours . Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!   About The Book: THE PERILOUS JOURNEY OF THE NOT SO INNOCUOUS GIRL (The Perilous Journey of the Not So Innocuous Girl #1) Author:  Leigh Statham Pub. Date:  September 13, 2022 Publisher:  Cricket Press, LLC Genre : Steampunk, Historical Fiction, Adventure, YA Formats:  Paperback, eBook Pages:  286 Find it:   Goodreads ,  Amazon , Kindle , B&N , TBD , Bookshop.org Synopsis:  This brand new edition of the book contains updated historical facts, an amazing new cover, and extra punk for your steam machines!      Lady Marguerite lives a life most 17th-century French girls can only dream of: money, designer dresses, suitors, and a secure future. Except she can't quite commit to a life of dull luxury and she suspects she may be falling for her best friend, Claud