Skip to main content

Once in a Blood Moon by Dorothea Hubble Bonneau

 

Once in a Blood Moon
Author: Dorothea Hubble Bonneau

Genre: Historical Fiction

Publisher: Acorn Publishing

Release Date: 2020

Pages: 335

Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: Heaven Hill Plantation, upriver from Georgetown, South Carolina, 1807: Sixteen-year-old Alexandra Degambia walks a tightrope stretched between her parents’ ambitions. Her father, a prosperous planter, want to preserve the heritage of his African ancestors. But her mother, who can pass for white, seeks to distance herself from her African roots and position herself in the elite society of wealthy free-women-of-color. Alexandra dreams of establishing her own place in the world as an accomplished violinist. She assumes her talent and her family’s wealth will pave her way to success. When her life spirals into a life-or-death struggle, she learns that the future is uncertain. Sometimes destiny has its own plans.


     My Review: Alexandra is the daughter of a wealthy African-American plantation owner. Her mother is a mixed-blood socialite who could pass for white. Alexandra’s life in the Antebellum South seems idyll. Her father is on the verge of being made legally white, and she dreams of becoming a renowned violinist. However, her life takes a drastic turn when her father is murdered and her mother dies. Alexandra is made a slave. One of the people she befriends is a boy named John Fowler, who is a white slave. Can Alexandra find a way to free herself and John Fowler from a life of slavery?


Alexandra is an engaging protagonist. I found it interesting that even though they were an African-American family they kept slaves, and her mother treated them harshly. However, Alexandra was very caring to the slaves and even establishes a friendship with one of them. Alexandra is also very clever and resourceful. She also is an accomplished musician and has a passion for music. Her cleverness and accomplishments would become very beneficial to her when she becomes a slave. Alexandra is also a character who goes through many tragedies and obstacles, but she strives to overcome them to find her own happiness. Thus, I could help but root for her to find a life outside of slavery. I also loved Alexandra’s friendship with John Fowler, a white slave. I had never heard of John Fowler in history before. Yet, this novel opened my eyes to John Fowler and his dangerous escape to freedom.


Overall, this novel is about slavery, friendship, and freedom. I found all the characters to be very realistic and complex. Once in a Blood Moon is a very engaging novel that sheds light on a little known piece of history. The novel is very fast-paced and thought-provoking. The only thing I did not like about the book was that there were a few loose ends. Still, Once in a Blood Moon is a breathtaking and meticulously researched novel about a woman who fights for those she loves! I recommend this book for fans of Beverly Jenkins, Alyssa Cole, and Barbara Chase-Riboud! Once in a Blood Moon will be sure to stay with you long after you’ve read the last page!


Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

That Summer in Berlin by Lecia Cornwall: A Book Review

That Summer in Berlin Author: Lecia Cornwall Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Berkley Release Date: 2022 Pages: 464 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: In the summer of 1936, while the Nazis make secret plans for World War II, a courageous and daring young woman struggles to expose the lies behind the dazzling spectacle of the Berlin Olympics.       German power is rising again, threatening a war that will be even worse than the last one. The English aristocracy turns to an age-old institution to stave off war and strengthen political bonds—marriage. Debutantes flock to Germany, including Viviane Alden. On holiday with her sister during the 1936 Berlin Olympics, Viviane’s true purpose is more clandestine. While many in England want to appease Hitler, others seek to prove Germany is rearming. But they need evidence, photographs to tell the tale, and Viviane is a genius with her trusty Leica. And who would suspect a pretty, young tourist taking hol