Skip to main content

The Empress by Laura Martinez-Belli: A Book Review

 

The Empress
Author: Laura Martinez-Belli

Genre: Historical Fiction

Publisher: Amazon Crossing

Release Date: 2020

Pages: 458

Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review/

Synopsis: From a bestselling author in Mexico comes her English-language debut—an enthralling historical novel about the tragic reign of Empress Carlota of Mexico.


    It’s 1863. Napoleon III has installed a foreign monarch in Mexico to squash the current regime. Maximilian von Habsburg of Austria accepts the emperor’s crown. But it is his wife, the brilliant and ambitious Princess Charlotte, who throws herself passionately into the role. Known to the people as Empress Carlota, she rules deftly from behind the scenes while her husband contents himself with philandering and decorating the palace.


     But Carlota bears a guilty secret. Trapped in a loveless marriage, she’s thrown herself into a reckless affair. Desire has blinded Carlota to its consequences, for it has left her vulnerable to her sole trusted confidante. Carlota’s devious lady-in-waiting has political beliefs of her own—and they are strong enough to cause her to betray the empress and join a plot to depose her from the throne. As Carlota grows increasingly, maddeningly defenseless, both her own fate and that of the empire are at stake.


    A sweeping historical novel of forbidden love, dangerous secrets, courtly intrigue, and treachery, The Empress passionately reimagines the tragic romance and ill-fated reign of the most unforgettable royal couple of nineteenth-century Europe during the last throes of the Second Empire.

 

    My Review: The Empress tells the tragic story of Empress Charlotte (Carlota) of Mexico. The novel begins when the French have occupied Mexico. Emperor Napoleon III wants a European prince to rule Mexico. He has chosen Maximilian, Archduke of Austria, to be the new Emperor. Maximilian accepts and relinquishes his right to the throne. Once Maximilian and his wife, Carlota arrive in Mexico, they want to make their new home resemble the European palaces. However, Carlota becomes the unofficial ruler of Mexico, while her husband busies himself in the palace. As Carlota hopes to be a great empress to Mexico, she has no idea that there lies a conspiracy that plots to depose both her and her husband from the throne.


    Carlota was truly a tragic empress. She was once a hopeful Belgium princess who was immediately smitten with Archduke Maximilian because he seemed sentimental and poetic. As soon as she married him, her delusions about him were shattered when she realized that he never loved her. Throughout her long marriage, Carlota yearned for his love but she never received it. She took her duty as Empress of Mexico very seriously and was a capable empress. Therefore, her descent into madness was truly tragic because Carlota went through so much and lost everything dear to her including her sanity. I sympathized with her very much and cried as I slowly watched her experience each personal blow. She had no one she could rely on, and she was truly a lonely empress.


    Overall, this novel is about freedom, betrayal, and conspiracy. I thought Carlota was the only developed character in the novel, however. I did not like Constanza, Carlota’s lady-in-waiting, because she did not seem to have a will of her own and was mostly a witless pawn for Benito Juarez. I also thought Phillippe proved a useless character, and I did not know why there was a lot of focus on him. As for the other characters, they were bland and forgettable. The story is not chronological and makes random time jumps. I found these random time jumps to be very confusing and it took a few re-reads to understand what was going on. Therefore, the story would have worked better had it been told in a chronological order. Despite these flaws, The Empress read like a thriller as we watched Empress Carlota slowly descend into madness! The Empress tells the tale of a foreign empress who decided to take the throne of a country that never welcomed her and wanted her gone. I recommend this novel for fans of The Accidental Empress, Last Queen, and A Most English Princess!


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,

Blog Tour: Kathy Fischer-Brown and A Book Review of Lord Esterleigh's Daughter ( Book 1 of the Serpent Tooth Trilogy)

Please join Kathy Fischer-Brown as she tours virtually for her Serpent's Tooth trilogy - Lord Esterleigh's Daughter, Courting the Devil, & The Partisan’s Wife - and her novel Winter Fire. Blog tour includes a chance to win a $20 Amazon Gift Card. See below to enter. Lord Esterleigh’s Daughter: Book 1, The Serpent’s Tooth trilogy Publication Date: June 13, 2012 Publisher: Books We Love Ltd. Formats: eBook, Paperback Pages: 346 Source: This book was given to me as part of the Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tour   Synposis:  As a child, Anne Fairfield dreams of the father she never knew, the hero who died fighting the French and their Indian allies in a land across the sea. Her mother’s stories, and fantasies of her own devising, sustain and nurture her through a poor and lonely existence. Until one winter night, a strange man comes to call, and the life she has known comes crashing down like shattered glass. Forced to confront sordid truths, secrets and lies, t