Skip to main content

Becoming Lady Washington by Bette Bolte: A Book Review


Becoming Lady Washington
Author: Bette Bolte

Genre: Historical Fiction

Publisher: Mystic Owl Publishing

Release Date: 2020

Pages: 416

Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review 


     My Review: It is often said that behind every famous man lies a great woman. In this biographical novel of Martha Washington, Mrs. Bolte proves that this is the case. Martha Custis is a young widow who is in search of a father figure for her children. She meets George Washington, a Southern plantation owner with a lavish estate. They marry and live peacefully until the American Revolution pulls her husband from her. When George Washington becomes the leader of America’s army, Martha rises overnight from obscurity to fame. Eventually, Martha Washington learns that destiny is taking her to the highest position in America as the President’s Wife.


The novel begins with Martha’s courtship to her first husband, Daniel Custis. Because of Daniel’s miserly father who was suspicious of her that she would be marrying his son for money, Martha used her cleverness and resourcefulness to persuade him to let her marry his son. The marriage between Martha and Daniel seemed a loving and happy relationship that was often marred by the tragedy of her children. When her husband dies, Martha is left a rich widow and can manage a happy estate.


Initially, Martha marries George Washington for convenience, but then she quickly learns to love him. When George enters the war of the American Revolution, she supports in both his military and later his political career. She is willing to support him in all his endeavors, even though she disagrees with them. Martha Washington endures many tragedies, but she manages to find her strength to support herself and her loved ones. Thus, Martha Washington is very strong, courageous, and admirable.


Overall, this novel is about loss, second chances, faith, and finding’s one’s inner strength. Martha Washington’s life was not easy, but through her courage and her willingness to support her husband, she managed to gain the admiration and respect of many famous figures of her day. I thought the author did an excellent job in characterization, especially in describing George Washington. George Washington was shown as a man who put his country first even above his own family. It is George’s devotion to his country that Martha liked best about him. The novel is also very meticulously researched and written with vivid detail. It stayed mostly true to facts and very few liberties were taken. There were a few times, especially when depicting battle scenes that happened off the pages, that I felt I was reading a textbook. Nevertheless, this was a very moving and enthralling read! This book is a must read for those that want to learn the stories of the women behind the Founding Fathers! I recommend this for fans of I, Eliza Hamilton, America’s First Daughter, and Patriot Hearts!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: The Portraitist: A Novel of Adelaide Labille-Guiard by Susanne Dunlap

The Portraitist: A Novel of Adelaide Labille-Guiard by Susanne Dunlap Publication Date: August 30, 2022 She Writes Press Genre: Historical Fiction Synopsis: Based on a true story, this is the tale of Adélaïde Labille-Guiard’s fight to take her rightful place in the competitive art world of eighteenth-century Paris.     With a beautiful rival who’s better connected and better trained than she is, Adélaïde faces an uphill battle. Her love affair with her young instructor in oil painting gives rise to suspicions that he touches up her work, and her decision to make much-needed money by executing erotic pastels threatens to create as many problems as it solves. Meanwhile, her rival goes from strength to strength, becoming Marie Antoinette’s official portraitist and gaining entrance to the elite Académie Royale at the same time as Adélaïde.      When at last Adélaïde earns her own royal appointment and receives a massive commission from a member of the royal family, the timing couldn

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Blog Tour: The Perilous Journey of the Not So Innocuous Girl ( Book #1) by Leigh Statham: A Book Review

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the THE PERILOUS JOURNEY OF THE NOT SO INNOCUOUS GIRL by Leigh Statham Blog Tour hosted by  Rockstar Book Tours . Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!   About The Book: THE PERILOUS JOURNEY OF THE NOT SO INNOCUOUS GIRL (The Perilous Journey of the Not So Innocuous Girl #1) Author:  Leigh Statham Pub. Date:  September 13, 2022 Publisher:  Cricket Press, LLC Genre : Steampunk, Historical Fiction, Adventure, YA Formats:  Paperback, eBook Pages:  286 Find it:   Goodreads ,  Amazon , Kindle , B&N , TBD , Bookshop.org Synopsis:  This brand new edition of the book contains updated historical facts, an amazing new cover, and extra punk for your steam machines!      Lady Marguerite lives a life most 17th-century French girls can only dream of: money, designer dresses, suitors, and a secure future. Except she can't quite commit to a life of dull luxury and she suspects she may be falling for her best friend, Claud