Skip to main content

Becoming Lady Washington by Bette Bolte: A Book Review


Becoming Lady Washington
Author: Bette Bolte

Genre: Historical Fiction

Publisher: Mystic Owl Publishing

Release Date: 2020

Pages: 416

Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review 


     My Review: It is often said that behind every famous man lies a great woman. In this biographical novel of Martha Washington, Mrs. Bolte proves that this is the case. Martha Custis is a young widow who is in search of a father figure for her children. She meets George Washington, a Southern plantation owner with a lavish estate. They marry and live peacefully until the American Revolution pulls her husband from her. When George Washington becomes the leader of America’s army, Martha rises overnight from obscurity to fame. Eventually, Martha Washington learns that destiny is taking her to the highest position in America as the President’s Wife.


The novel begins with Martha’s courtship to her first husband, Daniel Custis. Because of Daniel’s miserly father who was suspicious of her that she would be marrying his son for money, Martha used her cleverness and resourcefulness to persuade him to let her marry his son. The marriage between Martha and Daniel seemed a loving and happy relationship that was often marred by the tragedy of her children. When her husband dies, Martha is left a rich widow and can manage a happy estate.


Initially, Martha marries George Washington for convenience, but then she quickly learns to love him. When George enters the war of the American Revolution, she supports in both his military and later his political career. She is willing to support him in all his endeavors, even though she disagrees with them. Martha Washington endures many tragedies, but she manages to find her strength to support herself and her loved ones. Thus, Martha Washington is very strong, courageous, and admirable.


Overall, this novel is about loss, second chances, faith, and finding’s one’s inner strength. Martha Washington’s life was not easy, but through her courage and her willingness to support her husband, she managed to gain the admiration and respect of many famous figures of her day. I thought the author did an excellent job in characterization, especially in describing George Washington. George Washington was shown as a man who put his country first even above his own family. It is George’s devotion to his country that Martha liked best about him. The novel is also very meticulously researched and written with vivid detail. It stayed mostly true to facts and very few liberties were taken. There were a few times, especially when depicting battle scenes that happened off the pages, that I felt I was reading a textbook. Nevertheless, this was a very moving and enthralling read! This book is a must read for those that want to learn the stories of the women behind the Founding Fathers! I recommend this for fans of I, Eliza Hamilton, America’s First Daughter, and Patriot Hearts!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

That Summer in Berlin by Lecia Cornwall: A Book Review

That Summer in Berlin Author: Lecia Cornwall Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Berkley Release Date: 2022 Pages: 464 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: In the summer of 1936, while the Nazis make secret plans for World War II, a courageous and daring young woman struggles to expose the lies behind the dazzling spectacle of the Berlin Olympics.       German power is rising again, threatening a war that will be even worse than the last one. The English aristocracy turns to an age-old institution to stave off war and strengthen political bonds—marriage. Debutantes flock to Germany, including Viviane Alden. On holiday with her sister during the 1936 Berlin Olympics, Viviane’s true purpose is more clandestine. While many in England want to appease Hitler, others seek to prove Germany is rearming. But they need evidence, photographs to tell the tale, and Viviane is a genius with her trusty Leica. And who would suspect a pretty, young tourist taking hol