Skip to main content

Becoming Lady Washington by Bette Bolte: A Book Review


Becoming Lady Washington
Author: Bette Bolte

Genre: Historical Fiction

Publisher: Mystic Owl Publishing

Release Date: 2020

Pages: 416

Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review 


     My Review: It is often said that behind every famous man lies a great woman. In this biographical novel of Martha Washington, Mrs. Bolte proves that this is the case. Martha Custis is a young widow who is in search of a father figure for her children. She meets George Washington, a Southern plantation owner with a lavish estate. They marry and live peacefully until the American Revolution pulls her husband from her. When George Washington becomes the leader of America’s army, Martha rises overnight from obscurity to fame. Eventually, Martha Washington learns that destiny is taking her to the highest position in America as the President’s Wife.


The novel begins with Martha’s courtship to her first husband, Daniel Custis. Because of Daniel’s miserly father who was suspicious of her that she would be marrying his son for money, Martha used her cleverness and resourcefulness to persuade him to let her marry his son. The marriage between Martha and Daniel seemed a loving and happy relationship that was often marred by the tragedy of her children. When her husband dies, Martha is left a rich widow and can manage a happy estate.


Initially, Martha marries George Washington for convenience, but then she quickly learns to love him. When George enters the war of the American Revolution, she supports in both his military and later his political career. She is willing to support him in all his endeavors, even though she disagrees with them. Martha Washington endures many tragedies, but she manages to find her strength to support herself and her loved ones. Thus, Martha Washington is very strong, courageous, and admirable.


Overall, this novel is about loss, second chances, faith, and finding’s one’s inner strength. Martha Washington’s life was not easy, but through her courage and her willingness to support her husband, she managed to gain the admiration and respect of many famous figures of her day. I thought the author did an excellent job in characterization, especially in describing George Washington. George Washington was shown as a man who put his country first even above his own family. It is George’s devotion to his country that Martha liked best about him. The novel is also very meticulously researched and written with vivid detail. It stayed mostly true to facts and very few liberties were taken. There were a few times, especially when depicting battle scenes that happened off the pages, that I felt I was reading a textbook. Nevertheless, this was a very moving and enthralling read! This book is a must read for those that want to learn the stories of the women behind the Founding Fathers! I recommend this for fans of I, Eliza Hamilton, America’s First Daughter, and Patriot Hearts!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Blog Tour: Release Blitz of Our Last Days in Barcelona by Chanel Cleeton

Our Last Days in Barcelona Author: Chanel Cleeton Historical Fiction Publisher: Berkley Pages: 320 Synopsis: Barcelona, 1964 . Exiled from Cuba after the revolution, Isabel Perez has learned to guard her heart and protect her family at all costs. After Isabel’s sister Beatriz disappears in Barcelona, Isabel goes to Spain in search of her. Joining forces with an unlikely ally thrusts Isabel into her sister’s dangerous world of espionage, but it’s an unearthed piece of family history that transforms Isabel’s life.      Barcelona, 1936 . Alicia Perez arrives in Barcelona after a difficult voyage from Cuba, her marriage in jeopardy and her young daughter Isabel in tow. Violence brews in Spain, the country on the brink of civil war, the rise of fascism threatening the world. When Cubans journey to Spain to join the International Brigades, Alicia’s past comes back to haunt her as she is unexpectedly reunited with the man who once held her heart.      Alicia and Isabel’s lives intertwine, and

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Dreamland by Nancy Bilyeau

Dreamland Author: Nancy Bilyeau Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery & Suspense Publisher: Lume Books Release Date: 2020 Pages: 291 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The year is 1911 when twenty-year-old heiress Peggy Batternberg is invited to spend the summer in America’s Playground.       The invitation to Coney Island is unwelcome. Despite hailing from one of America’s richest families, Peggy would much rather spend the summer working at the Moonrise Bookstore than keeping up appearances with New York City socialites and her snobbish, controlling family.      But soon it transpires that the hedonism of Coney Island affords Peggy the freedom she has been yearning for, and it’s not long before she finds herself in love with a troubled pier-side artist of humble means, whom the Batternberg patriarchs would surely disapprove of. Disapprove they may, but hidden behind their pomposity lurks a web of deceit, betrayal, and deadly secrets. And as bodie