Skip to main content

Pearl in the Sand by Tessa Afshar: A Book Review

Pearl in the Sand
Author: Tessa Afshar
Genre: Historical Fiction, Christian Fiction, Biblical Fiction
Publisher: Moody Publishers
Release Date: 2020
Pages: 416
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Can a Canaanite harlot who made her living enticing men be a fitting wife for a leader of Israel? Shockingly, the Bible’s answer is yes.

     This 10th anniversary edition of Pearl in the Sand includes new features that will invite you into the untold story of Rahab’s journey from lowly outcast to redeemed child of God. Rahab’s home is built into a wall, a wall that fortifies and protects the City of Jericho. However, other walls surround her too, walls of fear, rejection, and unworthiness… Years of pain and betrayal have wounded Rahab’s heart—she doubts whether her dreams of experiencing true love will ever come true…


     A woman with a wrecked past—a man of success, of faith... of pride. A marriage only God would conceive! Through the heartaches of a stormy relationship, Rahab and Salmone learn the true source of one another’s worth and find healing in God.

 

     My Review: Pearl in the Sand retells the story of the Battle of Jericho. It tells about Rahab, her early tragic past, and the after events of the Bible. Rahab begins to listen to God’s voice and help the Hebrews. She slowly falls for the Hebrew leader, Salmone, and they plan to marry. As their marriage draws near, can Rahab ever forgive herself and move on from the past?


I have always admired Rahab from the Bible. I have always thought that she was a courageous woman to put her life at risk by helping the Hebrews. However, Mrs. Afshar gives a deeper look at Rehab. She fleshes out her backstory, and makes Rahab a complex character with real emotions and gives her a voice. In this novel, Rahab’s story is not for the faint of heart. She goes through many horrific events. She is a young woman who is traumatized by her past and does not forgive herself. Throughout the course of the novel, she struggles to love herself. It is with the help of God that she gradually learns to heal and find love. I also love her relationship with Salmone. They do not fall immediately in love. Their relationship took time and also had God’s help. With God’s help, they were able to start a new chapter in their life that is filled with much promise.


Overall, this novel is about redemption, forgiveness, and recovery. The message of this book is God’s love is the best form of healing. All the characters seemed to be developed. The story was very beautiful and heart-wrenching. Rahab is truly a heroine who deserves her happy ending. Unlike other biblical fiction writers that paint these biblical women as almost perfect, Rahab is far from perfect. Therefore, this seems like a very realistic take on Rahab. The story also moves at an even pace. Pearl in the Sand is perfect for fans of The Crimson Cord, The Scarlet Cord, and Jewel of Jericho! Pearl in the Sand is a must read for fans of Biblical fiction!


Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Before the Alamo by Florence Byham Weinberg: A Book Review

  Before the Alamo Author: Florence Byham Weinberg Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Maywood House Release Date: 2021 Pages: 299 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Emilia Altamirano, Tejana, half Native American, half Spanish, is the daughter of a Royalist officer who fought against Mexico's independence in the Battle of the Medina River. Growing up in Bexar de San Antonio, she becomes literate, is adopted as a ward of José Antonio Navarro, and acts as a page in the Ayuntamiento (City Council). She serves as a nurse in the Battle of the Alamo but survives to face an uncertain future.            My Review: Before the Alamo chronicles the events prior to the Battle of the Alamo from a tejana’s perspective, a Texan woman of Spanish descent. Emilia is the daughter of a wealthy Spaniard and a Native American slave. She becomes a ward to Jose Antonio Navarro, a Texas war hero. Jose teaches Emilia to read and write. Under his tutelage, she becomes

The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World by Shelley Puhak: A Book Review

  The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World Author: Shelley Puhak Genre: Nonfiction, History, Biography Publisher: Bloomsbury Release Date: February 22, 2022 Pages: 378 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The remarkable, little-known story of two trailblazing women in the Early Middle Ages who wielded immense power, only to be vilified for daring to rule.      Brunhild was a foreign princess, raised to be married off for the sake of alliance-building. Her sister-in-law Fredegund started out as a lowly palace slave. And yet-in sixth-century Merovingian France, where women were excluded from noble succession and royal politics was a blood sport-these two iron-willed strategists reigned over vast realms, changing the face of Europe.      The two queens commanded armies and negotiated with kings and popes. They formed coalitions and broke them, mothered children and lost them. They fought a decades-long civil war-against each ot