Skip to main content

Pearl in the Sand by Tessa Afshar: A Book Review

Pearl in the Sand
Author: Tessa Afshar
Genre: Historical Fiction, Christian Fiction, Biblical Fiction
Publisher: Moody Publishers
Release Date: 2020
Pages: 416
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Can a Canaanite harlot who made her living enticing men be a fitting wife for a leader of Israel? Shockingly, the Bible’s answer is yes.

     This 10th anniversary edition of Pearl in the Sand includes new features that will invite you into the untold story of Rahab’s journey from lowly outcast to redeemed child of God. Rahab’s home is built into a wall, a wall that fortifies and protects the City of Jericho. However, other walls surround her too, walls of fear, rejection, and unworthiness… Years of pain and betrayal have wounded Rahab’s heart—she doubts whether her dreams of experiencing true love will ever come true…


     A woman with a wrecked past—a man of success, of faith... of pride. A marriage only God would conceive! Through the heartaches of a stormy relationship, Rahab and Salmone learn the true source of one another’s worth and find healing in God.

 

     My Review: Pearl in the Sand retells the story of the Battle of Jericho. It tells about Rahab, her early tragic past, and the after events of the Bible. Rahab begins to listen to God’s voice and help the Hebrews. She slowly falls for the Hebrew leader, Salmone, and they plan to marry. As their marriage draws near, can Rahab ever forgive herself and move on from the past?


I have always admired Rahab from the Bible. I have always thought that she was a courageous woman to put her life at risk by helping the Hebrews. However, Mrs. Afshar gives a deeper look at Rehab. She fleshes out her backstory, and makes Rahab a complex character with real emotions and gives her a voice. In this novel, Rahab’s story is not for the faint of heart. She goes through many horrific events. She is a young woman who is traumatized by her past and does not forgive herself. Throughout the course of the novel, she struggles to love herself. It is with the help of God that she gradually learns to heal and find love. I also love her relationship with Salmone. They do not fall immediately in love. Their relationship took time and also had God’s help. With God’s help, they were able to start a new chapter in their life that is filled with much promise.


Overall, this novel is about redemption, forgiveness, and recovery. The message of this book is God’s love is the best form of healing. All the characters seemed to be developed. The story was very beautiful and heart-wrenching. Rahab is truly a heroine who deserves her happy ending. Unlike other biblical fiction writers that paint these biblical women as almost perfect, Rahab is far from perfect. Therefore, this seems like a very realistic take on Rahab. The story also moves at an even pace. Pearl in the Sand is perfect for fans of The Crimson Cord, The Scarlet Cord, and Jewel of Jericho! Pearl in the Sand is a must read for fans of Biblical fiction!


Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to