Skip to main content

The Forgotten Kingdom (The Lost Queen #2) by Signe Pike: A Book Review


The Forgotten Kingdom (The Lost Queen #2)
Author: Signe Pike

Genre: Historical Fiction

Publisher: Atria

Release Date: 2020

Pages: 489

Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: From the author of The Lost Queen, a new novel in which a forgotten queen of 6th-century Scotland claims her throne as war looms and her family is scattered to the winds.


AD 573. Imprisoned in her chamber, Languoreth awaits news in torment. Her husband and son have ridden off to war against her brother, Lailoken. She doesn’t yet know that her young daughter, Angharad, who was training with Lailoken to become a Wisdom Keeper, has been lost in the chaos. As one of the bloodiest battles of early medieval Scottish history abandons its survivors to the wilds of Scotland, Lailoken and his men must flee to exile in the mountains of the Lowlands, while nine-year-old Angharad must summon all Lailoken has taught her to follow her own destiny through the mysterious, mystical land of the Picts.

In the aftermath of the battle, old political alliances unravel, opening the way for the ambitious adherents of the new religion: Christianity. Lailoken is half-mad with battle sickness, and Languoreth must hide her allegiance to the Old Way to survive her marriage to the next Christian king of Strathclyde. Worst yet, the new King of the Angles is bent on expanding his kingdom at any cost. Now the exiled Lailoken, with the help of a young warrior named Artur, may be the only man who can bring the warring groups together to defeat the encroaching Angles. But to do so, he must claim the role that will forever transform him. He must become the man known to history as “Myrddin.”

My Review: The Forgotten Kingdom is the sequel to The Lost Queen. Languoreth is a prisoner in her own council as she awaits the news of her husband who is fighting against her brother and first love. Eventually, her husband returns and becomes king. As queen, can Languoreth find a way to bring peace between the Old Religion and the New? As Languoreth learns the ropes of queenship, she discovers that there is a personal cost.

Languoreth is the sole narrator in The Lost Queen. However, her story is barely focused upon because the story also focuses on her brother, Lailoken and her daughter, Angharad. She sits on the sidelines throughout the novel, which I was a little disappointed in. Still, this novel shows Languoreth as a grieving mother who yearns for her lost children. There are also some glimpses of her striving to be a good queen and leader. Still, I wish that there was more to Languoreth’s journey than what was offered in this novel. I loved Angharad’s story as she grows from a child to a confident priestess. She is the true hero of this story. I found Lailoken’s story to be my least favorite and unnecessary. You could skip his chapters and not miss out on anything in the story.

Overall, this novel is about war, religion, and choices. The characters seemed to be very complex. The setting seemed very realistic and made medieval Scotland come to life. The Forgotten Kingdom was beautifully written and made me feel like I was walking alongside the characters. I also thought the ending seemed rushed. Still, I can’t wait to read the final book in the trilogy. I want to see what the next book has in store for these characters! I recommend this novel for fans of Queen of Oak, The Mists of Avalon, and The Raven Queen!

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This is the official book trailer for The Forgotten Kingdom:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Before the Alamo by Florence Byham Weinberg: A Book Review

  Before the Alamo Author: Florence Byham Weinberg Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Maywood House Release Date: 2021 Pages: 299 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Emilia Altamirano, Tejana, half Native American, half Spanish, is the daughter of a Royalist officer who fought against Mexico's independence in the Battle of the Medina River. Growing up in Bexar de San Antonio, she becomes literate, is adopted as a ward of José Antonio Navarro, and acts as a page in the Ayuntamiento (City Council). She serves as a nurse in the Battle of the Alamo but survives to face an uncertain future.            My Review: Before the Alamo chronicles the events prior to the Battle of the Alamo from a tejana’s perspective, a Texan woman of Spanish descent. Emilia is the daughter of a wealthy Spaniard and a Native American slave. She becomes a ward to Jose Antonio Navarro, a Texas war hero. Jose teaches Emilia to read and write. Under his tutelage, she becomes

The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World by Shelley Puhak: A Book Review

  The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World Author: Shelley Puhak Genre: Nonfiction, History, Biography Publisher: Bloomsbury Release Date: February 22, 2022 Pages: 378 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The remarkable, little-known story of two trailblazing women in the Early Middle Ages who wielded immense power, only to be vilified for daring to rule.      Brunhild was a foreign princess, raised to be married off for the sake of alliance-building. Her sister-in-law Fredegund started out as a lowly palace slave. And yet-in sixth-century Merovingian France, where women were excluded from noble succession and royal politics was a blood sport-these two iron-willed strategists reigned over vast realms, changing the face of Europe.      The two queens commanded armies and negotiated with kings and popes. They formed coalitions and broke them, mothered children and lost them. They fought a decades-long civil war-against each ot