Skip to main content

The Invisible Woman by Erika Robuck: A Book Review

The Invisible Woman
Author: Erika Robuck
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Berkley
Release Date: 2021
Pages: 365
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: In the depths of war, she would defy the odds to help liberate a nation…a gripping historical novel based on the remarkable true story of World War II heroine Virginia Hall, from the bestselling author of Hemingway’s Girl.

 

     France, March 1944. Virginia Hall wasn't like the other young society women back home in Baltimore—she never wanted the debutante ball or silk gloves. Instead, she traded a safe life for adventure in Europe, and when her beloved second home is thrust into the dark days of war, she leaps in headfirst.


     Once she's recruited as an Allied spy, subverting the Nazis becomes her calling. But even the most cunning agent can be bested, and in wartime trusting the wrong person can prove fatal. Virginia is haunted every day by the betrayal that ravaged her first operation, and will do everything in her power to avenge the brave people she lost.


     While her future is anything but certain, this time more than ever Virginia knows that failure is not an option. Especially when she discovers what—and whom—she's truly protecting.

     

     My Review: Virginia Hall was one of WWII’s most successful spies. Yet, she is often overlooked. In The Invisible Woman, Virginia tells the story of her missions as a spy. She is considered to be one of the most wanted spies by the Nazis. Thus, she avoids the wanted posters by disguising herself as an old woman. Could Virginia manage to work for the Resistance while being invisible or would the Nazis discover her disguise?


     I have heard of Virginia Hall while reading Sonia Purcell’s excellent biography called A Woman of No Importance. Therefore, I was eager to see a dramatized retelling of her life. I thought Mrs. Robuck did an excellent job in making Virginia a complex woman. Mrs. Robuck fleshes out Virginia’s story. We do not know her background. Her past slowly unravels throughout the novel. Virginia is a person who has a hard time to trust. This made her appear frigid and reserved. The novel shows Virginia’s weaknesses and insecurities. I found Virginia’s attitude to be very understandable. She was also a determined woman who never stopped trying to get her revenge. Therefore, Virginia was very strong-willed. Thus, while it was hard for me to warm up to Virginia because of her aloofness, I still found her relatable.


     Overall, this novel shines light on an important but forgotten spy. The characters are very complex. While there were a few unnecessary scenes, I thought the story was fast-paced! It read like a thriller! It was written in a dark tone and had suspense, action, and revenge! The novel is very emotional and gripping. There were a few horrific scenes in the novel that made me a bit uncomfortable. Still, I thought the author did an excellent job in portraying the horrors and traumas of war. I recommend this novel for fans of The Brass Compass, Mistress of the Ritz, and The Lost Girls!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

 


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Iceberg by Jennifer A. Nielsen: A Book Review

  Iceberg Author: Jennifer A. Nielsen Genre: Children, Historical Fiction, Mystery, Adventure Publisher: Scholastic Release Date: March 7, 2023 Pages: 317 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis : As disaster looms on the horizon, a young stowaway onboard the Titanic will need all her courage and wits to stay alive. A thrilling tale from New York Times bestselling author Jennifer A. Nielsen!     Hazel Rothbury is traveling all alone from her home in England aboard the celebrated ship Titanic . Following the untimely death of her father, Hazel’s mother is sending her to the US to work in a factory, so that she might send money back home to help her family make ends meet.     But Hazel harbors a secret dream: She wants to be a journalist, and she just knows that if she can write and sell a story about the Titanic ’s maiden voyage, she could earn enough money to support her family and not have to go to a sweatshop. When Hazel discovers that mother didn’t send her with enough money for