Skip to main content

Queen of Stone (The Celtic Rebels #2) by Melanie Karsak: A Book Review

Queen of Stone: A Novel of Boudica (The Celtic Rebels #2)
Author: Melanie Karsak
Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy
Publisher: Clockpunk Press
Release Date: June 2, 2021
Pages: 778
Source: This book was given to me by the author in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: Fated to lead a rebellion against Rome. Destined to become a legend.


     Britain, A.D. 43

 

    With the arrival of the Romans, Boudica’s world is in upheaval. She and Prasutagus must decide where they stand. Will they fight the invaders alongside Caratacus or bargain with the Romans to secure the future of the Iceni? Every choice seems like a bad one. But more than anything, Boudica wants to keep her people and her family safe. Whispers from the greenwood—the groves, the rivers, and the stones—warn of unseen dangers. Can Boudica protect all she loves without bowing to the eagle?

 

    Continue the epic tale of the famous warrior queen in Queen of Stone: A Novel of Boudica, book 2 in the Celtic Rebels series by New York Times bestseller Melanie Karsak.

 

     My Review: Boudica is Queen of the Greater Iceni. She had not yet settled into her new home when the Romans landed on their shores. Boudica is in a dilemma. She either has to fight or make peace with the Romans. Boudica decides that it is best for her kingdom if she becomes a client queen under Rome. However, she wonders if she has made the right decision. Boudica wonders if there is a personal cost by being an ally with Rome. Yet, she foresees that one day she may take up arms against Rome herself.


    Queen of Stone is the second novel of the Boudica series, which focuses on the life of Queen Boudica. The first novel, Queen of Oak, focuses on the eventual arrival of the Romans on British shores. This novel focuses on Boudica’s dilemma now that the Romans have arrived. I was eager to see what Boudica would do now that the Romans were on the British lands. This novel did not disappoint.


    Boudica has matured greatly since Queen of the Oak. Now that she is a queen, Boudica must contemplate what is best for her people. Boudica takes her queenship very seriously. She is not afraid to submit to Rome if it is in her people’s welfare. She wants to strengthen her kingdom and live in peace. With the Romans seeking to destroy the Druid religion, Boudica wonders if she did the right thing. Thus, we can see that Boudica is a reluctant heroine because she is still hesitant to take up arms against the Romans. Thus, Boudica has grown from a rebellious and wild princess from the first novel to a meticulous, level-headed, and responsible queen in the second novel.


    Overall, this novel has political intrigue sprinkled with plenty of magic, action, and romance. All the characters are complex and very realistic. I also thought the author did a superb job in weaving Boudica’s story with the known facts of the Roman invasion of Britain in 43 C.E. While the second novel is slower paced than the first novel, I thought it laid excellent groundwork for what is to come in the next installments. It has been a pleasure walking alongside Boudica and seeing her conflict about fighting the invaders. Because of this book, Boudica seems more real to me rather than simply a name in a history textbook! I can’t wait to read the third book! I recommend Queen of Stone for fans of Daughters of Fire, The Eagle and The Raven, and Dreaming the Eagle! Mrs. Karsak proves that her The Celtic Rebels series must not be missed!


Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Before the Alamo by Florence Byham Weinberg: A Book Review

  Before the Alamo Author: Florence Byham Weinberg Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Maywood House Release Date: 2021 Pages: 299 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Emilia Altamirano, Tejana, half Native American, half Spanish, is the daughter of a Royalist officer who fought against Mexico's independence in the Battle of the Medina River. Growing up in Bexar de San Antonio, she becomes literate, is adopted as a ward of José Antonio Navarro, and acts as a page in the Ayuntamiento (City Council). She serves as a nurse in the Battle of the Alamo but survives to face an uncertain future.            My Review: Before the Alamo chronicles the events prior to the Battle of the Alamo from a tejana’s perspective, a Texan woman of Spanish descent. Emilia is the daughter of a wealthy Spaniard and a Native American slave. She becomes a ward to Jose Antonio Navarro, a Texas war hero. Jose teaches Emilia to read and write. Under his tutelage, she becomes

The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World by Shelley Puhak: A Book Review

  The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World Author: Shelley Puhak Genre: Nonfiction, History, Biography Publisher: Bloomsbury Release Date: February 22, 2022 Pages: 378 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The remarkable, little-known story of two trailblazing women in the Early Middle Ages who wielded immense power, only to be vilified for daring to rule.      Brunhild was a foreign princess, raised to be married off for the sake of alliance-building. Her sister-in-law Fredegund started out as a lowly palace slave. And yet-in sixth-century Merovingian France, where women were excluded from noble succession and royal politics was a blood sport-these two iron-willed strategists reigned over vast realms, changing the face of Europe.      The two queens commanded armies and negotiated with kings and popes. They formed coalitions and broke them, mothered children and lost them. They fought a decades-long civil war-against each ot