Skip to main content

The Turncoat's Widow: A Revolutionary War Mystery by Mallt Becker: A Book Review

The Turncoat’s Widow: A Revolutionary War Mystery
Author: Mally Becker

Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery & Suspense

Publisher: Level Best Books

Release Date: 2021

Pages: 355

Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: Recently widowed, Rebecca Parcell is too busy struggling to maintain her farm in Morristown to give a fig who wins the War for Independence. But rumors are spreading in the winter of 1780 that she’s a Loyalist sympathizer who betrayed her husband to the British—quite a tidy way to end her disastrous marriage, the village gossips whisper.


     Everyone knows that her husband was a Patriot, a hero who died aboard a British prison ship moored in New York Harbor. But “everyone” is wrong. Parcell was a British spy, and General Washington—who spent that winter in Morristown—can prove it. He swears he’ll safeguard Becca’s farm if she unravels her husband’s secrets. With a mob ready to exile her or worse, it’s an offer she can’t refuse.


      Escaped British prisoner of war Daniel Alloway was the last person to see Becca’s husband alive, and Washington throws this unlikely couple together on an espionage mission to British-occupied New York City. Moving from glittering balls to an underworld of brothels and prisons, Becca and Daniel uncover a plot that threatens the new country’s future. But will they move quickly enough to warn General Washington? And can Becca, who’s lost almost everyone she loves, fight her growing attraction to Daniel, a man who always moves on?


      My Review: The Turncoat’s Widow begins with the execution of Phillip Parcell, a British spy who has been caught selling British secrets to the Americans. Before his execution, he left a list of names of other British spies in his wife Becca's possession. He hopes that Becca will find the list and give it to the Americans. While Becca is looking for the list, she is given a task by George Washington and becomes a spy for the American cause. She is aided by Daniel Alloway, a British prisoner. Becca and Daniel set out on a dangerous mission to track down the British spies.


     Becca is a compelling character. She is often judged by the locals because it is assumed that she has betrayed the British. Therefore, she is an outcast by society. The only person who believes in her is George Washington, and she is employed to be a spy for the American cause. Over time, Becca becomes a patriot. She is a strong woman and is very smart. I liked her romance with Daniel. Both of them have sad pasts. They were able to connect with each other very deeply and have the same cause. Therefore, they truly belonged with each other.


      Overall, this novel is about choices, patriotism, and war. I liked how the novel showed how many people in colonies did not support the American cause. Many of them still wanted to be British. Therefore, it was interesting to see how unpopular and unlikely the American cause was. The many characters in this novel were very realistic. The mystery itself was fun to unravel because there were a lot of twists and turns! The Turncoat’s Widow is meticulously researched and made the Revolutionary era come alive. The only thing I did not like about this was the beginning was very slow, but picked up in the middle. Still, there is enough action, suspense, and romance that will keep you turning pages! I am excited to read the sequel! I recommend The Turncoat’s Widow for fans of City of Liars and Thieves, Cry of the Innocent, and This Day is Ours!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Before the Alamo by Florence Byham Weinberg: A Book Review

  Before the Alamo Author: Florence Byham Weinberg Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Maywood House Release Date: 2021 Pages: 299 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Emilia Altamirano, Tejana, half Native American, half Spanish, is the daughter of a Royalist officer who fought against Mexico's independence in the Battle of the Medina River. Growing up in Bexar de San Antonio, she becomes literate, is adopted as a ward of José Antonio Navarro, and acts as a page in the Ayuntamiento (City Council). She serves as a nurse in the Battle of the Alamo but survives to face an uncertain future.            My Review: Before the Alamo chronicles the events prior to the Battle of the Alamo from a tejana’s perspective, a Texan woman of Spanish descent. Emilia is the daughter of a wealthy Spaniard and a Native American slave. She becomes a ward to Jose Antonio Navarro, a Texas war hero. Jose teaches Emilia to read and write. Under his tutelage, she becomes

The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World by Shelley Puhak: A Book Review

  The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World Author: Shelley Puhak Genre: Nonfiction, History, Biography Publisher: Bloomsbury Release Date: February 22, 2022 Pages: 378 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The remarkable, little-known story of two trailblazing women in the Early Middle Ages who wielded immense power, only to be vilified for daring to rule.      Brunhild was a foreign princess, raised to be married off for the sake of alliance-building. Her sister-in-law Fredegund started out as a lowly palace slave. And yet-in sixth-century Merovingian France, where women were excluded from noble succession and royal politics was a blood sport-these two iron-willed strategists reigned over vast realms, changing the face of Europe.      The two queens commanded armies and negotiated with kings and popes. They formed coalitions and broke them, mothered children and lost them. They fought a decades-long civil war-against each ot