Skip to main content

The Turncoat's Widow: A Revolutionary War Mystery by Mallt Becker: A Book Review

The Turncoat’s Widow: A Revolutionary War Mystery
Author: Mally Becker

Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery & Suspense

Publisher: Level Best Books

Release Date: 2021

Pages: 355

Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: Recently widowed, Rebecca Parcell is too busy struggling to maintain her farm in Morristown to give a fig who wins the War for Independence. But rumors are spreading in the winter of 1780 that she’s a Loyalist sympathizer who betrayed her husband to the British—quite a tidy way to end her disastrous marriage, the village gossips whisper.


     Everyone knows that her husband was a Patriot, a hero who died aboard a British prison ship moored in New York Harbor. But “everyone” is wrong. Parcell was a British spy, and General Washington—who spent that winter in Morristown—can prove it. He swears he’ll safeguard Becca’s farm if she unravels her husband’s secrets. With a mob ready to exile her or worse, it’s an offer she can’t refuse.


      Escaped British prisoner of war Daniel Alloway was the last person to see Becca’s husband alive, and Washington throws this unlikely couple together on an espionage mission to British-occupied New York City. Moving from glittering balls to an underworld of brothels and prisons, Becca and Daniel uncover a plot that threatens the new country’s future. But will they move quickly enough to warn General Washington? And can Becca, who’s lost almost everyone she loves, fight her growing attraction to Daniel, a man who always moves on?


      My Review: The Turncoat’s Widow begins with the execution of Phillip Parcell, a British spy who has been caught selling British secrets to the Americans. Before his execution, he left a list of names of other British spies in his wife Becca's possession. He hopes that Becca will find the list and give it to the Americans. While Becca is looking for the list, she is given a task by George Washington and becomes a spy for the American cause. She is aided by Daniel Alloway, a British prisoner. Becca and Daniel set out on a dangerous mission to track down the British spies.


     Becca is a compelling character. She is often judged by the locals because it is assumed that she has betrayed the British. Therefore, she is an outcast by society. The only person who believes in her is George Washington, and she is employed to be a spy for the American cause. Over time, Becca becomes a patriot. She is a strong woman and is very smart. I liked her romance with Daniel. Both of them have sad pasts. They were able to connect with each other very deeply and have the same cause. Therefore, they truly belonged with each other.


      Overall, this novel is about choices, patriotism, and war. I liked how the novel showed how many people in colonies did not support the American cause. Many of them still wanted to be British. Therefore, it was interesting to see how unpopular and unlikely the American cause was. The many characters in this novel were very realistic. The mystery itself was fun to unravel because there were a lot of twists and turns! The Turncoat’s Widow is meticulously researched and made the Revolutionary era come alive. The only thing I did not like about this was the beginning was very slow, but picked up in the middle. Still, there is enough action, suspense, and romance that will keep you turning pages! I am excited to read the sequel! I recommend The Turncoat’s Widow for fans of City of Liars and Thieves, Cry of the Innocent, and This Day is Ours!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to