Skip to main content

A Peculiar Combination (An Electra McDonnell Mystery #1) by Ashley Weaver: A Book Review

A Peculiar Combination (An Electra McDonnell Mystery #1)
Author: Ashley Weaver
Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery & Suspense
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Release Date: 2021
Pages: 300
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review
Synopsis: The first in the Electra McDonnell series from Edgar-nominated author Ashley Weaver, set in England during World War II, A Peculiar Combination is a delightful mystery filled with spies, murder, romance, and the author's signature wit.

     FIRST RULE: DON’T LOSE YOUR CONCENTRATION.


     Electra McDonnell and her family earn their living outside the law. Breaking into the homes of the rich and picking the locks on their safes may not be condoned by British law enforcement, but with World War II in full swing, Uncle Mick’s locksmith business just can’t pay the bills anymore.


     SECOND RULE: DON’T MAKE MISTAKES.


     So when Uncle Mick receives a tip about a safe full of jewels in an empty house, he and Ellie can’t resist. All is going as planned—until the pair is caught red-handed. But instead of arresting them, government official Major Ramsey has an offer: either Ellie agrees to help him break into a safe and retrieve blueprints crucial to the British war effort, or he turns her over to the police.


     THIRD RULE: DON’T GET CAUGHT.


     Ellie doesn’t care for the major’s imperious manner, but she has no choice. However, when they break into the house, they find the safe open and empty, and a German spy dead on the floor. Soon, Ellie and Major Ramsey are forced to put aside their differences to unmask the double agent, and stop Allied plans from falling into enemy hands.


      My Review: Ellie McDonnell and her uncle Mick are thieves. One night, they break into a house to crack a safe. However, it turns out to be a set-up, and they are caught red-handed. In order to get out of prison, Ellie makes a deal with a government official, Major Ramsey, to break a safe filled with German secrets. Once she arrives at the safe, she finds nothing but a dead German spy. Ellie goes on an investigation to find out who killed the German spy and uncover what secrets the Germans hold.


     I found Ellie to be a very annoying character. When nothing goes her way, she would complain. Even though she was an adult, she acted like a spoiled teenager. Therefore, while she was a genius at code-breaking, independent, and tough, I could not like her character. I did not find her charming. Her sassy remarks came off as whiny. Therefore, she was not an appealing character.


      Overall, this novel is about loyalties, secrets, and spies. A Peculiar Combination is more of a spy thriller than a cozy historical mystery. Even though I disliked Ellie, I still found a few decent characters that I liked. I thought Ellie’s uncle was the most interesting character in this series. The love triangle was unnecessary and distracting. Still, this was a very fast-paced novel that is filled with political intrigue, action, danger, and humor! A Peculiar Combination is very well-written and is full of vivid details about World War II! Thus, this novel did pique my interest in reading the sequel. I hope that Ellie becomes more mature and likable in the next novel. I recommend this to those interested in World War II spy novels. A Peculiar Combination is perfect for fans of The Rose Code, In Farleigh Field, and Louise’s Chance!


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Interview with Ezra Harker Shaw

     Today, I have the pleasure of interviewing Ezra Harker Shaw. Ezra Harker Shaw is the author of the upcoming novel, The Aziola's Cry , which will be released on May 7, 2024.   Ezra Harker Shaw gives us insights into the lives of two legendary figures, Percy and Mary Shelley. These two lovers lived a life of literature and love while being on the run from a world that has often misunderstood them! Thank you, Ezra Harker Shaw! What drew your interest in the love story of Mary and Percy Shelley? When I was about sixteen years old, I lived in Dublin. I'd dropped out of school and I was drifting without any real direction in my life. I used to wander down Nassau street in the mornings on my way to the internet cafe where I would write to my friends and work on stories. There was a lovely little bookshop I often used to pop into, and one day, quite on a whim, I bought a thin Dover Thrift edition of Percy Shelley's poems for 2€.  Over the years I kept dipping into it: I