Skip to main content

John Brown's Women by Susan Higginbotham: A Book Review

 
John Brown’s Women
Author: Susan Higginbotham
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Onslow Press
Release Date: 2021
Pages: 374
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: As the United States wrestles with its besetting sin—slavery—abolitionist John Brown is growing tired of talk. He takes actions that will propel the nation toward civil war and thrust three courageous women into history.

     Wealthy Brown, married to John Brown's oldest son, eagerly falls in with her husband's plan to settle in Kansas. Amid clashes between pro-slavery and anti-slavery settlers, Wealthy's adventure turns into madness, mayhem, and murder.


     Fifteen-year-old Annie Brown is thrilled when her father summons her to the farm he has rented in preparation for his raid. There, she guards her father's secrets while risking her heart.


     Mary Brown never expected to be the wife of John Brown, much less the wife of a martyr. When her husband's daring plan fails, Mary must travel into hostile territory, where she finds the eyes of the nation riveted upon John—and upon her.


     Spanning three decades, John Brown's Women is a tale of love and sacrifice, and of the ongoing struggle for America to achieve its promise of liberty and justice for all.


      My Review: John Brown was an abolitionist who was famous for fighting in the events of Bleeding Kansas and for leading a failed slave revolt at Harper’s Ferry. This novel tells the story of three women who were related to John Brown. The first is his second wife, Mary Brown. The second is his daughter-in-law, Wealthy Brown, and the third is his daughter, Annie Brown. John Brown’s Women shows the hardships and struggles these women face as John Brown pursued his mission to abolish slavery.


     John Brown’s Women feels like a collection of short stories surrounding the women in John Brown’s family. The first part is Mary’s story. The second part shifts its focus to Wealthy. The third part then tells Annie’s story. The novel then concludes with Mary Brown. Throughout, I could not connect to any of these women, which is sad because Mary and Wealthy go through many hardships. This is because the novel was told in a passive voice. Therefore, I was emotionally detached from all the characters.


     Mary Brown was a young girl who was a housekeeper for John Brown and his family. Mary’s sister was supposed to marry John Brown, but John chose Mary instead. While Mary does not have much of an education and lacks in female penmanship, she does have a sound mind. There were a few actions I did not agree with, but for the most part she was very reasonable. Mary loses many children. Because the novel tells and not shows, I didn’t feel anything about the pain she was going through. Those scenes were written like a dry textbook so I had no reaction to the story. There are very few scenes between John and Mary because John spends most of his time away. Mary takes care of the farm. This novel shows that Mary is the matriarch and kept the family together.


     Wealthy Brown’s story is the most interesting, but is written the same way as Mary. She is married to John Brown Jr. She gives up the life she has known to follow her husband into the wilderness. She faces many hardships. When John Jr. is arrested for being part of the events of Bloody Kansas, she remains with him. She offers him comfort and guidance. Therefore, Wealthy is shown as a devoted and faithful wife. 


     Annie’s story seemed like it would be an interesting tale. I thought it would show the strong bond between her and her father. I did not get that. Instead, Annie’s story focused on a cheesy teen love triangle. The writing in Annie’s storyline was very juvenile and consisted of instant love. Therefore, out of the three women’s tales, this was the least interesting. 


     Overall, this novel is about injustices, freedom, and family. All the characters, especially John Brown, were flat and undeveloped. This novel suffers from being told and not shown. The author did an excellent job in portraying the issues of the pre-Civil War era. The novel is meticulously researched. John Brown’s Women had the potential to be a very moving and heart-wrenching story yet it was written like a textbook. I honestly think John Brown’s Women should have been written as a nonfiction work instead of historical fiction. It would have been more enjoyable. Instead, this novel was very slow and tedious with flat characters. Still, this novel does shine a light on the women behind a famous man. I recommend this for fans of This Side of the River, The Tubman Command, and The Spymistress!


Rating: 2 ½ out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Before the Alamo by Florence Byham Weinberg: A Book Review

  Before the Alamo Author: Florence Byham Weinberg Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Maywood House Release Date: 2021 Pages: 299 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Emilia Altamirano, Tejana, half Native American, half Spanish, is the daughter of a Royalist officer who fought against Mexico's independence in the Battle of the Medina River. Growing up in Bexar de San Antonio, she becomes literate, is adopted as a ward of José Antonio Navarro, and acts as a page in the Ayuntamiento (City Council). She serves as a nurse in the Battle of the Alamo but survives to face an uncertain future.            My Review: Before the Alamo chronicles the events prior to the Battle of the Alamo from a tejana’s perspective, a Texan woman of Spanish descent. Emilia is the daughter of a wealthy Spaniard and a Native American slave. She becomes a ward to Jose Antonio Navarro, a Texas war hero. Jose teaches Emilia to read and write. Under his tutelage, she becomes

The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World by Shelley Puhak: A Book Review

  The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World Author: Shelley Puhak Genre: Nonfiction, History, Biography Publisher: Bloomsbury Release Date: February 22, 2022 Pages: 378 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The remarkable, little-known story of two trailblazing women in the Early Middle Ages who wielded immense power, only to be vilified for daring to rule.      Brunhild was a foreign princess, raised to be married off for the sake of alliance-building. Her sister-in-law Fredegund started out as a lowly palace slave. And yet-in sixth-century Merovingian France, where women were excluded from noble succession and royal politics was a blood sport-these two iron-willed strategists reigned over vast realms, changing the face of Europe.      The two queens commanded armies and negotiated with kings and popes. They formed coalitions and broke them, mothered children and lost them. They fought a decades-long civil war-against each ot