Skip to main content

Castle of Refuge (Dericott Tale #2) by Melanie Dickerson: A Book Review

Castle of Refuge (Dericott Tale #2)
Author: Melanie Dickerson
Genre: YA, Historical Fiction, Christian
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Release Date: 2021
Pages: 334
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: In this Ugly Duckling retelling, New York Times bestselling author Melanie Dickerson brilliantly crafts a high-stakes, encouraging tale about a brave young woman, the true meaning of beauty, and the power of love.

     Ever since she was a child, Audrey wanted her life to be extraordinary. But as the daughter of a viscount born in late fourteenth-century England, the only thing expected of her was to marry—until an act of malice by her sister, Maris, four years ago damaged her face and her prospects. Though Maris was sent away, twenty-year-old Audrey is still suffering the scars of her sister’s cruelty. When her father announces his plans to marry off his damaged daughter and bring Maris home, Audrey decides to flee in search of her true destiny.


     Life outside her home is dangerous, and Audrey soon finds herself attacked, sick, and in desperate need of help. She is taken in at Dericott Castle to be nursed back to health. While there, she decides to keep her identity a secret and work as a servant in the castle. But she doesn’t count on falling in love with the young and handsome Lord Dericott, who lost his arm several months earlier and bears scars of his own.


      Meanwhile, Edwin—Lord Dericott—is curious about the new, well-educated servant’s identity. All he knows is that he’s quickly becoming smitten with her. When the man Audrey’s father wanted her to marry comes looking for her, she and Edwin must make life-changing decisions about what to believe and whether or not love is truly worth trusting.


       My Review: Castle of Refuge is the second novel in the Dericott Tale series. Castle of Refuge is also a fairytale retelling of “The Ugly Duckling”. Because Audrey is the daughter of a viscount, she has always planned to marry a nobleman, until one day her sister scars her face. Due to her damaged face, Audrey doesn’t think that anyone would want to marry her. When her father plans to marry her off, she runs away to Dericott Castle and falls in love with Sir Edwin. Through a series of events, Audrey and Edwin must overcome difficulties to find their happily ever after.


     I was hesitant to read this book because I was disappointed with Court of Swans. Because this was a retelling of “The Ugly Duckling”, which is a tale very seldom retold and Melanie Dickerson is still my favorite author, I was still interested in this novel. I have to say that Castle of Refuge is a vast improvement on the Court of Swans. Audrey is a likable character. She has a mean sister that has damaged part of her face. Because of her scars, she is insecure about her looks. Throughout the novel, Audrey struggles to gain the confidence that she once had. Therefore, I thought Audrey grew throughout the book. Audrey’s love interest is Sir Edwin, Delia’s brother from the Court of Swans. He too is a damaged character due to his lost arm. I thought that Audrey and Edwin’s romance was very compelling. Both of them are  struggling to gain confidence and recover from what they lost. Together, they heal from their tragic past. Therefore, the love story was very beautiful.


     Overall, this novel is about healing, love, and forgiveness. The message of the book is that God can heal all mental wounds. I thought all the characters, including the villain, were very compelling. The story moves at a steady pace though there were a few rushed parts. Thus, Castle of Refuge is a unique and refreshing fairytale! Mrs. Dickerson has outdone herself in this novel! I can’t wait to read the next installments in the Dericott Tale series! I recommend Castle of Refuge for fans of Jody Hedlund, Jan Davis Warren, and Tamara Leigh!


Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to