Skip to main content

The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World by Shelley Puhak: A Book Review

 
The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World
Author: Shelley Puhak
Genre: Nonfiction, History, Biography
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Release Date: February 22, 2022
Pages: 378
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: The remarkable, little-known story of two trailblazing women in the Early Middle Ages who wielded immense power, only to be vilified for daring to rule.

     Brunhild was a foreign princess, raised to be married off for the sake of alliance-building. Her sister-in-law Fredegund started out as a lowly palace slave. And yet-in sixth-century Merovingian France, where women were excluded from noble succession and royal politics was a blood sport-these two iron-willed strategists reigned over vast realms, changing the face of Europe.


     The two queens commanded armies and negotiated with kings and popes. They formed coalitions and broke them, mothered children and lost them. They fought a decades-long civil war-against each other. With ingenuity and skill, they battled to stay alive in the game of statecraft, and in the process laid the foundations of what would one day be Charlemagne's empire. Yet after the queens' deaths-one gentle, the other horrific-their stories were rewritten, their names consigned to slander and legend.


      In The Dark Queens, award-winning writer Shelley Puhak sets the record straight. She resurrects two very real women in all their complexity, painting a richly detailed portrait of an unfamiliar time and striking at the roots of some of our culture's stubbornest myths about female power. The Dark Queens offers proof that the relationships between women can transform the world.


     My Review: The Dark Queens is a dual biography on Merovingian queens, Brunhild and Fredegund. Brunhild was a Visigoth princess who married King Sigibert of Austrasia as part of a marriage alliance. Fredegund was a slave who was the mistress of King Sigibert’s brother, King Chilperic of Neustria. Eventually, Fredegund becomes King Chilperic’s third wife. These two queens were the most powerful women in the sixth century Merovingian Europe. However, the two queens disliked each other and waged civil war on each other. This biography tells the tale of their rivalry.


      The two queens' early origins could not be more different. However, they had some similarities. Brunhild was a princess who married for a marriage alliance. Fredegund was a slave that rose to become queen. However, both of these queens are very ambitious and are repeatedly scheming for power. Both of their husbands are assassinated and the queens become regents for their sons. These two are very power-hungry. However, they were very successful rulers. Both of them were skilled diplomats, administrators, and were excellent military strategists. It is sad that these two queens could not get along. However, I could see why. Brunhild resented Fredegund because she had a hand in her sister’s and husband’s deaths. I also liked Brunhild more because Fredegund was very ruthless and did horrible things. Yet, this biography highlights Fredegund’s accomplishments.


      Overall, this biography tells the rivalry between two powerful but forgotten queens. I had not heard of these queens before so I found their story fascinating. The biography’s greatest flaw is that there are not many facts known about the queens to have made a full book. Therefore, the author often goes to other topics that are irrelevant to the queens. Also, the author mostly uses conjectures on what the queens are thinking or feeling that reads like a historical fiction novel rather than nonfiction work. I think that this would have been more enjoyable if it was not a nonfiction work but a historical fiction novel. Still, this biography is very comprehensive and these queens' lives are fascinating. The Dark Queens reads like a soap opera because there is treachery, scandal, and intrigue! I recommend this for fans of Caesars' Wives, Sister Queens, and Four Queens!


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Interview with Tessa Afshar

     It was my honor to do an interview with Tessa Afshar! Ms. Afshar is one of the top-selling Christian fiction authors in the genre. Her books have won numerous awards in the field and her books show the love she has for the roots of Christianity. I asked Ms. Afshar about her latest work, Daughter of Rome . The novel focuses on Priscilla and Aquila, who had once brought Paul into their home  for 18 months. I appreciate Ms. Afshar taking the time for my interview, and I hope you enjoy looking into the latest work by Tessa Afshar, Daughter of Rome ! What attracted you to the story of Aquila and Priscilla? Although we know little about this extraordinary couple, what we do know is spellbinding: they saved Paul’s life, set up house churches in different cities in the Roman Empire, shared the gospel with many Gentiles, and became influential spiritual leaders through some of the most harrowing years of the church’s history. Their marriage must have been remarkable! Ther