Skip to main content

The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World by Shelley Puhak: A Book Review

 
The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World
Author: Shelley Puhak
Genre: Nonfiction, History, Biography
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Release Date: February 22, 2022
Pages: 378
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: The remarkable, little-known story of two trailblazing women in the Early Middle Ages who wielded immense power, only to be vilified for daring to rule.

     Brunhild was a foreign princess, raised to be married off for the sake of alliance-building. Her sister-in-law Fredegund started out as a lowly palace slave. And yet-in sixth-century Merovingian France, where women were excluded from noble succession and royal politics was a blood sport-these two iron-willed strategists reigned over vast realms, changing the face of Europe.


     The two queens commanded armies and negotiated with kings and popes. They formed coalitions and broke them, mothered children and lost them. They fought a decades-long civil war-against each other. With ingenuity and skill, they battled to stay alive in the game of statecraft, and in the process laid the foundations of what would one day be Charlemagne's empire. Yet after the queens' deaths-one gentle, the other horrific-their stories were rewritten, their names consigned to slander and legend.


      In The Dark Queens, award-winning writer Shelley Puhak sets the record straight. She resurrects two very real women in all their complexity, painting a richly detailed portrait of an unfamiliar time and striking at the roots of some of our culture's stubbornest myths about female power. The Dark Queens offers proof that the relationships between women can transform the world.


     My Review: The Dark Queens is a dual biography on Merovingian queens, Brunhild and Fredegund. Brunhild was a Visigoth princess who married King Sigibert of Austrasia as part of a marriage alliance. Fredegund was a slave who was the mistress of King Sigibert’s brother, King Chilperic of Neustria. Eventually, Fredegund becomes King Chilperic’s third wife. These two queens were the most powerful women in the sixth century Merovingian Europe. However, the two queens disliked each other and waged civil war on each other. This biography tells the tale of their rivalry.


      The two queens' early origins could not be more different. However, they had some similarities. Brunhild was a princess who married for a marriage alliance. Fredegund was a slave that rose to become queen. However, both of these queens are very ambitious and are repeatedly scheming for power. Both of their husbands are assassinated and the queens become regents for their sons. These two are very power-hungry. However, they were very successful rulers. Both of them were skilled diplomats, administrators, and were excellent military strategists. It is sad that these two queens could not get along. However, I could see why. Brunhild resented Fredegund because she had a hand in her sister’s and husband’s deaths. I also liked Brunhild more because Fredegund was very ruthless and did horrible things. Yet, this biography highlights Fredegund’s accomplishments.


      Overall, this biography tells the rivalry between two powerful but forgotten queens. I had not heard of these queens before so I found their story fascinating. The biography’s greatest flaw is that there are not many facts known about the queens to have made a full book. Therefore, the author often goes to other topics that are irrelevant to the queens. Also, the author mostly uses conjectures on what the queens are thinking or feeling that reads like a historical fiction novel rather than nonfiction work. I think that this would have been more enjoyable if it was not a nonfiction work but a historical fiction novel. Still, this biography is very comprehensive and these queens' lives are fascinating. The Dark Queens reads like a soap opera because there is treachery, scandal, and intrigue! I recommend this for fans of Caesars' Wives, Sister Queens, and Four Queens!


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn: A Book Review

The Rose Code Author: Kate Quinn Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Harper Collins Release Date: 2021 Pages: 635 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: 1940, Bletchley Park, Buckinghamshire.        Three very different women are recruited to the mysterious Bletchley Park, where the best minds in Britain train to break German military codes.       Vivacious debutante Osla has the dashing Prince Philip of Greece sending her roses – but she burns to prove herself as more than a society girl, working to translate decoded enemy secrets. Self-made Mab masters the legendary codebreaking machines as she conceals old wounds and the poverty of her East-End London upbringing. And shy local girl Beth is the outsider who trains as one of the Park’s few female cryptanalysts.       1947, London.        Seven years after they first meet, on the eve of the royal wedding between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip, disaster threatens. Osla, Mab and Beth are estranged,

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Interview with Ezra Harker Shaw

     Today, I have the pleasure of interviewing Ezra Harker Shaw. Ezra Harker Shaw is the author of the upcoming novel, The Aziola's Cry , which will be released on May 7, 2024.   Ezra Harker Shaw gives us insights into the lives of two legendary figures, Percy and Mary Shelley. These two lovers lived a life of literature and love while being on the run from a world that has often misunderstood them! Thank you, Ezra Harker Shaw! What drew your interest in the love story of Mary and Percy Shelley? When I was about sixteen years old, I lived in Dublin. I'd dropped out of school and I was drifting without any real direction in my life. I used to wander down Nassau street in the mornings on my way to the internet cafe where I would write to my friends and work on stories. There was a lovely little bookshop I often used to pop into, and one day, quite on a whim, I bought a thin Dover Thrift edition of Percy Shelley's poems for 2€.  Over the years I kept dipping into it: I