Skip to main content

Blog Tour: Feather and Flame (The Queen's Council #2) by Livia Blackburne

     I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the FEATHER AND FLAME by Livia Blackburne Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

 

About The Book:

Title: FEATHER AND FLAME (The Queen's Council #2)

Author: Livia Blackburne

Pub. Date:  June 14, 2022

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, Audiobook

Pages: 336

Find it:  GoodreadsAmazon, Kindle, Audible, B&N, iBooks, Kobo, TBDBookshop.org

Source: This book is given to me by Rockstar Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: She brought honor on the battlefield. Now comes a new kind of war...

     The war is over. Now a renowned hero, Mulan spends her days in her home village, training a militia of female warriors. The peace is a welcome one, and she knows it must be protected.

     When Shang arrives with an invitation to the Imperial City, Mulan’s relatively peaceful life is upended once more. The aging emperor decrees that Mulan will be his heir to the throne. Such unimagined power and responsibility terrifies her, but who can say no to the Emperor?

      As Mulan ascends into the halls of power, it becomes clear that not everyone is on her side. Her ministers undermine her, and the Huns sense a weakness in the throne. When hints of treachery appear even amongst those she considers friends, Mulan has no idea whom she can trust.

      But the Queen’s Council helps Mulan uncover her true destiny. With renewed strength and the wisdom of those that came before her, Mulan will own her power, save her country, and prove once again that, crown or helmet, she was always meant to lead. This fierce reimagining of the girl who became a warrior blends fairy-tale lore and real history with a Disney twist.

Reviews:


     “Vivid and gripping, Feather and Flame richly blends Chinese history, folklore, and magic to tell the next chapter of Mulan’s epic story. With elegant prose and meticulous attention to detail, Blackburne weaves a tale of strength and sacrifice that will enchant readers.”—Emma Theriault, author of Rebel Rose


 

Grab REBEL ROSE now!

 My Review:


Feather and Flame is the sequel to Disney’s Mulan set in ancient China. Mulan has returned home from the war and is training a troop of female warriors. The emperor summons her to the palace. The emperor tells her that he has no heirs, and since Mulan once saved China, he wants her to be his heir. Mulan is hesitant about becoming the next Empress of China. However, she is loyal to the emperor and agrees. As she prepares for her new role, she is confronted with Huns threatening to invade the country, scheming ministers, and sacrificing her love for General Shang. Could Mulan find solutions to these difficulties and become the empress she was meant to be?

Mulan is one of my favorite childhood movies. I was interested in this sequel to see what lies in store, and I was not disappointed! Mulan is still a tough warrior. She questions the role of her responsibility as the next Empress of China and wonders whether she will be a good ruler. However, her devotion to her country matters the most of all and she struggles with her insecurity. In the end, she becomes the confident ruler she was meant to be. She believes that love and duty can co-exist. Because of this belief, she is determined to get what she wants. I really loved Mulan because she was a relatable heroine. I admired her strength, intelligence, and tenacity. She was not only a strong warrior but a leader. Thus, I loved seeing her in a leadership role because I felt that is where she belonged.


Overall, this novel is about responsibility, loyalty, and confidence. I found all the characters to be very realistic. However, I was disappointed that Mulan’s friends from the movie did not appear in this book. Nevertheless, Feather and Flame is an enthralling fast-paced novel filled with action, court intrigue, and romance! The writing is very beautiful with vivid descriptions of ancient China! I recommend this for fans of Bound, Silver Phoenix, and The Magnolia Sword! Feather and Flame is a novel that you do not want to miss if you love the Mulan legend!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

 

About Livia Blackburne:

     Livia Blackburne is a New York Times bestselling author who wrote her first novel while researching the neuroscience of reading at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Since then, she’s switched to full time writing, which also involves getting into people’s heads but without the help of a three tesla MRI scanner. She is the author of the Midnight Thief, and Rosemarked series, as well as the picture book I Dream of Popo.

Website  Facebook  | Twitter  | InstagramGoodreads | Amazon | BookBub

 



Giveaway Details:

     1 winner will win a finished copy of FEATHER AND FLAME, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

6/1/2022

The Reading Devil

Excerpt

6/2/2022

Kait Plus Books

Excerpt

6/3/2022

BookHounds YA

Excerpt

6/4/2022

Rajiv's Reviews

Review

Week Two:

6/5/2022

More Books Please blog

Review

6/6/2022

BookishConnoisseur

Review

6/7/2022

A Backwards Story

Review

6/8/2022

The Litt Librarian

Review

6/9/2022

celiamcmahonreads

Review

6/10/2022

History from a Woman’s Perspective

Review

6/11/2022

Karen Dee's Book Reviews

Review

Week Three:

6/12/2022

Book-Keeping

Review

6/13/2022

lexijavabookish

Review

6/14/2022

The Book Review Crew

Review

6/15/2022

The Reading Wordsmith

Review

6/16/2022

Bri's Book Nook

Review

6/17/2022

A Court of Coffee and Books

Review

6/18/2022

Once Upon a Twilight

Review

Week Four:

6/19/2022

The Girl Who Reads

Review

6/20/2022

Don't Judge, Read

Review

6/21/2022

Laura's Bookish Corner

Review

6/22/2022

Bookwyrming Thoughts

Review

6/23/2022

Two Points of Interest

Review

6/24/2022

Lifestyle of Me

Review

6/25/2022

The Momma Spot

Review

Week Five:

6/26/2022

Books a Plenty Book Reviews

Review

6/27/2022

Nat Reads

Review

6/28/2022

BookBriefs

Review

6/29/2022

popthebutterfly

Review

6/30/2022

onemused

Review




Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to