Skip to main content

A Betting Woman: A Novel of Madame Moustache by Jenni L. Walsh: A Book Review

A Betting Woman: A Novel of Madame Moustache

Author: Jenni L. Walsh

Genre: Historical Fiction

Publisher: Wyatt-MacKenzie Publishing

Release Date: 2021

Pages: 320

Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: Born Simone Jules, reinvented as Eleanor Dumont, and largely remembered as Madame Moustache, A Betting Woman is a historical novel inspired by the tumultuous life, times, and loves of America's first professional croupier of modern-day blackjack, bringing to life an intrepid and entrepreneurial real-life woman who lived on her own terms.


     When her whole family dies in a fire, young Simone Jules flees her grief and travels west to reinvent herself in burgeoning San Francisco. Down to her last dollar and facing some unsavory options, Simone quick-wits her way to a gambling table where she begins to deal vingt-et-un - modern-day blackjack. Word travels fast among of this French-speaking, card-playing novelty, and she begins to build a new life for herself.


      Fans of Thelma Adams, Therese Anne Fowler, and Marie Benedict will root for the quick-witted, charming, and self-sufficient Eleanor as she paves her way in a man's world and into the pages of history.


       My Review: The author of Becoming Bonnie has penned a tale of another infamous woman, Eleanor Dumont, known as Madame Moustache! Madame Moustache is known as the first female blackjack dealer. When Simone’s family dies in a fire, she flees to San Francisco. Harsh circumstances force Simone to play what is known as blackjack. Simone re-invents herself as Eleanor Dumont to open her own gambling parlor. Thus, Simone has to navigate herself through a male dominated game to become successful in the field of blackjack.


I had never heard of Madame Moustache previously, so this novel was really enlightening. I found it interesting that she got her nickname because she had a hairline on her upper lip. I found Simone Jules to be a survivor. She went through many tragedies but endured. She started out being very naive, but gradually became wiser. There were a few of her actions that I thought were a bit shady, and some of her decisions I did not agree with. Thus, Simone was a very complex character. She used her intelligence, ambition, and ruthlessness to become successful.


Overall, this novel is an in-depth psyche of a larger than life woman. Besides Simone, I thought the other characters were not developed enough. The story is told at an even pace. However, the novel became repetitive. The romance was not my favorite because it was not developed enough, and I found it to be unnecessary. Still, I like how the author showed us the gritty San Francisco underbelly during the Gold Rush. A Betting Woman does a fascinating job in portraying the struggles of a woman in a male dominated society. I recommend this for fans of Gold Digger: The Remarkable Life of Baby Doe Tabor, Crown of Dust, and Daughter of Joy!


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Before the Alamo by Florence Byham Weinberg: A Book Review

  Before the Alamo Author: Florence Byham Weinberg Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Maywood House Release Date: 2021 Pages: 299 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Emilia Altamirano, Tejana, half Native American, half Spanish, is the daughter of a Royalist officer who fought against Mexico's independence in the Battle of the Medina River. Growing up in Bexar de San Antonio, she becomes literate, is adopted as a ward of José Antonio Navarro, and acts as a page in the Ayuntamiento (City Council). She serves as a nurse in the Battle of the Alamo but survives to face an uncertain future.            My Review: Before the Alamo chronicles the events prior to the Battle of the Alamo from a tejana’s perspective, a Texan woman of Spanish descent. Emilia is the daughter of a wealthy Spaniard and a Native American slave. She becomes a ward to Jose Antonio Navarro, a Texas war hero. Jose teaches Emilia to read and write. Under his tutelage, she becomes

The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World by Shelley Puhak: A Book Review

  The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World Author: Shelley Puhak Genre: Nonfiction, History, Biography Publisher: Bloomsbury Release Date: February 22, 2022 Pages: 378 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The remarkable, little-known story of two trailblazing women in the Early Middle Ages who wielded immense power, only to be vilified for daring to rule.      Brunhild was a foreign princess, raised to be married off for the sake of alliance-building. Her sister-in-law Fredegund started out as a lowly palace slave. And yet-in sixth-century Merovingian France, where women were excluded from noble succession and royal politics was a blood sport-these two iron-willed strategists reigned over vast realms, changing the face of Europe.      The two queens commanded armies and negotiated with kings and popes. They formed coalitions and broke them, mothered children and lost them. They fought a decades-long civil war-against each ot