Skip to main content

Kaikeyi by Vaishnavi Patel: A Book Review

Kaikeyi 
Author: Vaishnavi Patel
Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy
Publisher: Redhook
Release Date: April 26, 2022
Pages: 497
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: "I was born on the full moon under an auspicious constellation, the holiest of positions - much good it did me."

     So begins Kaikeyi's story. The only daughter of the kingdom of Kekaya, she is raised on tales of the gods: how they churned the vast ocean to obtain the nectar of immortality, how they vanquish evil and ensure the land of Bharat prospers, and how they offer powerful boons to the devout and the wise. Yet she watches as her father unceremoniously banishes her mother, listens as her own worth is reduced to how great a marriage alliance she can secure. And when she calls upon the gods for help, they never seem to hear.


     Desperate for some measure of independence, she turns to the texts she once read with her mother and discovers a magic that is hers alone. With this power, Kaikeyi transforms herself from an overlooked princess into a warrior, diplomat, and most favoured queen, determined to carve a better world for herself and the women around her.


     But as the evil from her childhood stories threatens the cosmic order, the path she has forged clashes with the destiny the gods have chosen for her family. And Kaikeyi must decide if resistance is worth the destruction it will wreak - and what legacy she intends to leave behind.


     My Review: In Ramayana, Kaikeyi is portrayed as the wicked stepmother who forced Rama, the worthy heir-apparent of Ayodhya, into exile for fourteen years in order to make her own son king. This novel retells the epic from Kaikeyi’s perspective. Kaikeyi is a princess of Kekeya. She had an arranged marriage to King Dasharatha of Ayodhya. This novel tells the tale of how Keikeyi was an excellent queen who loved her people and why she exiled her step-son.


     When Kaikeyi was released, I was ecstatic to read it. I have been familiar with the Ramayana, and I wanted to see how the author would make Kaikeyi sympathetic. I have already read Shadows of the Sun Dynasty which is a retelling of the epic also from Kaikeyi’s view so I wanted to see another author’s take on it. In this novel, Kaikeyi is a lovable, relatable, and strong heroine. Kaikeyi shows different aspects of the infamous queen. She is a sister, a dutiful princess, a wife, a fierce warrior, a wise queen, and, above all, a mother. She relentlessly fights for women’s rights. She wants what’s best for her children. She feels that exiling Rama is what is with him even though she risks losing all those she loves. Even though Kaikeyi is beloved and respected, she is willing to lose everything to fight for what she believes to be right. Thus, Kaikeyi is strong throughout the novel because she never stopped being true to herself and her beliefs. Therefore, Kaikeyi was a very fascinating and complex character.


      Overall, this novel is about justice, family, and decisions. Many of the characters are one-dimensional. The characters fall into two categories. Those that love the heroine are good, and those that hate the heroine are bad. Another disappointment is that the novel portrays Rama as the villain to justify Kaikeyi’s actions. I did not think this was necessary to change Rama’s character. Therefore, Shadows of the Sun Dynasty did not change Rama’s personality to make Kaikeyi sympathetic. In that novel, Kaikeyi was portrayed as insecure and afraid for her future. I thought Shadows of the Sun Dynasty was a superior version from Kaikeyi’s perspective because they kept the characters true to the epic and both were sympathetic. Therefore, I suggest if you do not want to read this book where Rama is portrayed in a negative light, then read Shadows of the Sun Dynasty instead. Despite these drawbacks, Kaikeyi is still a very engrossing read. The writing is very lush and lyrical that made ancient India come alive. Kaikeyi moves at a fast pace and is a feminist take on the epic! I recommend this for fans of The Forests of Enchantments, Sita’s Sister, and Ahalya!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


  This is a video of Vaishnavi Patel discussing her novel, Kaikeyi:


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

Interview with Tessa Afshar

     It was my honor to do an interview with Tessa Afshar! Ms. Afshar is one of the top-selling Christian fiction authors in the genre. Her books have won numerous awards in the field and her books show the love she has for the roots of Christianity. I asked Ms. Afshar about her latest work, Daughter of Rome . The novel focuses on Priscilla and Aquila, who had once brought Paul into their home  for 18 months. I appreciate Ms. Afshar taking the time for my interview, and I hope you enjoy looking into the latest work by Tessa Afshar, Daughter of Rome ! What attracted you to the story of Aquila and Priscilla? Although we know little about this extraordinary couple, what we do know is spellbinding: they saved Paul’s life, set up house churches in different cities in the Roman Empire, shared the gospel with many Gentiles, and became influential spiritual leaders through some of the most harrowing years of the church’s history. Their marriage must have been remarkable! Ther