Skip to main content

The Woman at the Front by Lecia Cornwall: A Book Review

The Woman at the Front
Author: Lecia Cornwall
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Berkley
Release Date: 2021
Pages: 447
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: A daring young woman risks everything to pursue a career as a doctor on the front lines in France during World War I, and learns the true meaning of hope, love, and resilience in the darkest of times.

      When Eleanor Atherton graduates from medical school near the top of her class in 1917, she dreams of going overseas to help the wounded, but her ambition is thwarted at every turn. Eleanor's parents insist she must give up medicine, marry a respectable man, and assume her proper place. While women might serve as ambulance drivers or nurses at the front, they cannot be physicians—that work is too dangerous and frightening.


     Nevertheless, Eleanor is determined to make more of a contribution than sitting at home knitting for the troops. When an unexpected twist of fate sends Eleanor to the battlefields of France as the private doctor of a British peer, she seizes the opportunity for what it is—the chance to finally prove herself.


     But there's a war on, and a casualty clearing station close to the front lines is an unforgiving place. Facing skeptical commanders who question her skills, scores of wounded men needing care, underhanded efforts by her family to bring her back home, and a blossoming romance, Eleanor must decide if she's brave enough to break the rules, face her darkest fears, and take the chance to win the career—and the love—she's always wanted.


       My Review: Eleanor Atherton has graduated from medical school. She wants to be a respected doctor. However, many people do not take her credentials seriously because of her gender. Her opportunity arises when she is hired to go to the frontlines and become a personal for a British peer. Eleanor is determined to prove her skills that she is worthy of respect as a doctor.


     Eleanor is a likable heroine. She constantly has to prove her worth in a field that is dominated by men. Because she is in a man's profession, she is often looked down upon and mocked. Her own family disapproves of her career choice and shuns her. Therefore, she does not have any close relationships with family. I found that Eleanor is a capable physician. She puts her patients first. There are times when she is put in a leadership role. This was my favorite part of the book because I like seeing her as a leader. Through her determination and skills, she is able to gain the respect and recognition she deserves. Therefore, I found her an admirable character, and I respected her a lot.


     Overall, this novel is about a woman having to prove her worth in a male dominated field. It is also about the horrors of war. The characters all seem very realistic. There are a few drawbacks to the novel. I did not like that there were multiple men in love with our protagonist. This was very distracting in the novel because up until the end, the reader does not know who she will end up with. There were also side stories of some minor characters that seem to be unnecessary to Eleanor’s storyline. Despite these drawbacks, this was still a very well-written novel. A Woman at the Front is a dark and gritty novel that shows the harsh realities of war. Thus, A Woman at the Front is an engrossing read that puts readers into the frontlines of WWI. I recommend this for fans of Somewhere in France, Girls on the Line, and The Poppy Wife!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to

Iceberg by Jennifer A. Nielsen: A Book Review

  Iceberg Author: Jennifer A. Nielsen Genre: Children, Historical Fiction, Mystery, Adventure Publisher: Scholastic Release Date: March 7, 2023 Pages: 317 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis : As disaster looms on the horizon, a young stowaway onboard the Titanic will need all her courage and wits to stay alive. A thrilling tale from New York Times bestselling author Jennifer A. Nielsen!     Hazel Rothbury is traveling all alone from her home in England aboard the celebrated ship Titanic . Following the untimely death of her father, Hazel’s mother is sending her to the US to work in a factory, so that she might send money back home to help her family make ends meet.     But Hazel harbors a secret dream: She wants to be a journalist, and she just knows that if she can write and sell a story about the Titanic ’s maiden voyage, she could earn enough money to support her family and not have to go to a sweatshop. When Hazel discovers that mother didn’t send her with enough money for