Skip to main content

The Woman at the Front by Lecia Cornwall: A Book Review

The Woman at the Front
Author: Lecia Cornwall
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Berkley
Release Date: 2021
Pages: 447
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: A daring young woman risks everything to pursue a career as a doctor on the front lines in France during World War I, and learns the true meaning of hope, love, and resilience in the darkest of times.

      When Eleanor Atherton graduates from medical school near the top of her class in 1917, she dreams of going overseas to help the wounded, but her ambition is thwarted at every turn. Eleanor's parents insist she must give up medicine, marry a respectable man, and assume her proper place. While women might serve as ambulance drivers or nurses at the front, they cannot be physicians—that work is too dangerous and frightening.


     Nevertheless, Eleanor is determined to make more of a contribution than sitting at home knitting for the troops. When an unexpected twist of fate sends Eleanor to the battlefields of France as the private doctor of a British peer, she seizes the opportunity for what it is—the chance to finally prove herself.


     But there's a war on, and a casualty clearing station close to the front lines is an unforgiving place. Facing skeptical commanders who question her skills, scores of wounded men needing care, underhanded efforts by her family to bring her back home, and a blossoming romance, Eleanor must decide if she's brave enough to break the rules, face her darkest fears, and take the chance to win the career—and the love—she's always wanted.


       My Review: Eleanor Atherton has graduated from medical school. She wants to be a respected doctor. However, many people do not take her credentials seriously because of her gender. Her opportunity arises when she is hired to go to the frontlines and become a personal for a British peer. Eleanor is determined to prove her skills that she is worthy of respect as a doctor.


     Eleanor is a likable heroine. She constantly has to prove her worth in a field that is dominated by men. Because she is in a man's profession, she is often looked down upon and mocked. Her own family disapproves of her career choice and shuns her. Therefore, she does not have any close relationships with family. I found that Eleanor is a capable physician. She puts her patients first. There are times when she is put in a leadership role. This was my favorite part of the book because I like seeing her as a leader. Through her determination and skills, she is able to gain the respect and recognition she deserves. Therefore, I found her an admirable character, and I respected her a lot.


     Overall, this novel is about a woman having to prove her worth in a male dominated field. It is also about the horrors of war. The characters all seem very realistic. There are a few drawbacks to the novel. I did not like that there were multiple men in love with our protagonist. This was very distracting in the novel because up until the end, the reader does not know who she will end up with. There were also side stories of some minor characters that seem to be unnecessary to Eleanor’s storyline. Despite these drawbacks, this was still a very well-written novel. A Woman at the Front is a dark and gritty novel that shows the harsh realities of war. Thus, A Woman at the Front is an engrossing read that puts readers into the frontlines of WWI. I recommend this for fans of Somewhere in France, Girls on the Line, and The Poppy Wife!


Rating: 4 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Before the Alamo by Florence Byham Weinberg: A Book Review

  Before the Alamo Author: Florence Byham Weinberg Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Maywood House Release Date: 2021 Pages: 299 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Emilia Altamirano, Tejana, half Native American, half Spanish, is the daughter of a Royalist officer who fought against Mexico's independence in the Battle of the Medina River. Growing up in Bexar de San Antonio, she becomes literate, is adopted as a ward of José Antonio Navarro, and acts as a page in the Ayuntamiento (City Council). She serves as a nurse in the Battle of the Alamo but survives to face an uncertain future.            My Review: Before the Alamo chronicles the events prior to the Battle of the Alamo from a tejana’s perspective, a Texan woman of Spanish descent. Emilia is the daughter of a wealthy Spaniard and a Native American slave. She becomes a ward to Jose Antonio Navarro, a Texas war hero. Jose teaches Emilia to read and write. Under his tutelage, she becomes

The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World by Shelley Puhak: A Book Review

  The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World Author: Shelley Puhak Genre: Nonfiction, History, Biography Publisher: Bloomsbury Release Date: February 22, 2022 Pages: 378 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The remarkable, little-known story of two trailblazing women in the Early Middle Ages who wielded immense power, only to be vilified for daring to rule.      Brunhild was a foreign princess, raised to be married off for the sake of alliance-building. Her sister-in-law Fredegund started out as a lowly palace slave. And yet-in sixth-century Merovingian France, where women were excluded from noble succession and royal politics was a blood sport-these two iron-willed strategists reigned over vast realms, changing the face of Europe.      The two queens commanded armies and negotiated with kings and popes. They formed coalitions and broke them, mothered children and lost them. They fought a decades-long civil war-against each ot