Skip to main content

Katharine Parr: The Sixth Wife (Six Tudor Queens #6) by Alison Weir: A Book Review

Kath
arine Parr: The Sixth Wife (Six Tudor Queens #6)
Author: Alison Weir
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Release Date: 2021
Pages: 544
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Synopsis: Bestselling author and acclaimed historian Alison Weir brings her Tudor Queens series to a close with the remarkable story of Henry VIII’s sixth and final wife, who manages to survive him and remarry, only to be thrown into a romantic intrigue that threatens the very throne of England.


    Having sent his much-beloved but deceitful young wife Katheryn Howard to her beheading, King Henry fixes his lonely eyes on a more mature woman, thirty-year-old, twice-widowed Katharine Parr. She, however, is in love with Sir Thomas Seymour, brother to the late Queen Jane. Aware of his rival, Henry sends him abroad, leaving Katharine no choice but to become Henry’s sixth queen in 1543. The king is no longer in any condition to father a child, but Katharine is content to mother his three children, Mary, Elizabeth, and the longed-for male heir, Edward.

My Review: Katharine Parr was the sixth wife of Henry VIII and England’s most married queen. The death of Katharine Parr’s second husband draws near. Katharine Parr is pursued by two suitors. The first is her love, Thomas Seymour. The second is the most powerful man in England, King Henry VIII. As Katharine is approaching widowhood, she wonders if she can sacrifice love for the good of her religion and country. Could Katharine be the queen who could help reform England under a turbulent reign?

Katharine Parr is a very likable and relatable heroine. She has a love of learning and often spends her free time on books. She is also passionate in the Protestant faith. It is through her Protestant religion that she is willing to give up love and be a passionate spokesperson on the faith. She is often very intelligent. She uses her intelligence to save herself. Katharine is also a very devoted stepmother, and often seeks to have her stepchildren educated. It is because she wants the best for her stepchildren from both marriages that they come to respect her. Every step Katharine makes, she is very careful. The only time I thought she was reckless was when it came to love. A month after Henry VIII died, she immediately married Thomas Seymour. In her fourth marriage, she made many mistakes. Still, Katharine Parr was devoted to her four husbands, stepchildren, siblings, and her religion.

  Overall, this novel is about security, duty, and religion. The novel emphasizes how widowed women had very few prospects in the Tudor era. The characters all seemed very realistic. Henry VIII is shown sympathetic as well as a grieving widower. He is mostly shown as a pawn to ambitious men's schemes and political machinations. Katharine Parr: The Sixth Wife is a vast improvement on Katheryn Howard: The Scandalous Queen because it is not as rushed and takes time to develop all the characters and their motivations. Unlike Anna of Kleve: The Princess in Portrait, it mainly sticks to verified facts. Therefore, Katharine Parr: The Sixth Wife was rife with meticulous details of the Tudor era. It also highlighted the religious conflicts that plagued the country. The only thing I did not really like about the book was the cheesy romance between Katharine Parr and Thomas Seymour. It seemed to be instant love. Katharine only seemed to love simply because of his looks and his charms. Nevertheless, Katharine Parr: The Sixth Wife is a feast for historical fiction lovers! I did not want this novel to end! Katharine Parr: The Sixth Wife is a gripping and heart-wrenching read!

     The Six Tudor Queens as a whole have really been a delightful treat. For years, I have looked forward to reading about each of Henry VIII’s queens. Now that I am finished with the last queen, I am truly saddened because with each book, it felt like I was a visitor in Henry VIII’s court and each of these queens have been my friends. I have wept throughout their difficulties and tragedies. Therefore, finishing Katherine Parr: The Sixth Wife has been very bittersweet. Katharine Parr: The Sixth Wife is an excellent standalone. Yet, to truly love this book, you have to read the Six Tudor Queen series in order. Only then, can you truly appreciate this masterpiece series. The Six Tudor Queens is a must read for any Tudor fan! I recommend this novel for fans of Margaret Campbell Barnes, Carolly Erickson, and Laurien Gardiner!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars


This is a video of Alison Weir discussing her sixth book in the Six Tudor Queen series, Katharine Parr: The Sixth Wife:

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Before the Alamo by Florence Byham Weinberg: A Book Review

  Before the Alamo Author: Florence Byham Weinberg Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Maywood House Release Date: 2021 Pages: 299 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Emilia Altamirano, Tejana, half Native American, half Spanish, is the daughter of a Royalist officer who fought against Mexico's independence in the Battle of the Medina River. Growing up in Bexar de San Antonio, she becomes literate, is adopted as a ward of José Antonio Navarro, and acts as a page in the Ayuntamiento (City Council). She serves as a nurse in the Battle of the Alamo but survives to face an uncertain future.            My Review: Before the Alamo chronicles the events prior to the Battle of the Alamo from a tejana’s perspective, a Texan woman of Spanish descent. Emilia is the daughter of a wealthy Spaniard and a Native American slave. She becomes a ward to Jose Antonio Navarro, a Texas war hero. Jose teaches Emilia to read and write. Under his tutelage, she becomes

The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World by Shelley Puhak: A Book Review

  The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World Author: Shelley Puhak Genre: Nonfiction, History, Biography Publisher: Bloomsbury Release Date: February 22, 2022 Pages: 378 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The remarkable, little-known story of two trailblazing women in the Early Middle Ages who wielded immense power, only to be vilified for daring to rule.      Brunhild was a foreign princess, raised to be married off for the sake of alliance-building. Her sister-in-law Fredegund started out as a lowly palace slave. And yet-in sixth-century Merovingian France, where women were excluded from noble succession and royal politics was a blood sport-these two iron-willed strategists reigned over vast realms, changing the face of Europe.      The two queens commanded armies and negotiated with kings and popes. They formed coalitions and broke them, mothered children and lost them. They fought a decades-long civil war-against each ot