Skip to main content

The Next Ship Home: A Novel of Ellis Island by Heather Webb: A Book Review

The Next Ship Home: A Novel of Ellis Island
Author: Heather Webb
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Release Date: February 8, 2022
Pages: 436
Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: Ellis Island, 1902: Two women band together to hold America to its promise: "Give me your tired, your poor ... your huddled masses yearning to breathe free..."


A young Italian woman arrives on the shores of America, her sights set on a better life. That same day, a young American woman reports to her first day of work at the immigration center. But Ellis Island isn't a refuge for Francesca or Alma, not when ships depart every day with those who are refused entry to the country and when corruption ripples through every corridor. While Francesca resorts to desperate measures to ensure she will make it off the island, Alma fights for her dreams of becoming a translator, even as women are denied the chance.


     As the two women face the misdeeds of a system known to manipulate and abuse immigrants searching for new hope in America, they form an unlikely friendship—and share a terrible secret—altering their fates and the lives of the immigrants who come after them.


     This is a novel of the dark secrets of Ellis Island, when entry to "the land of the free" promised a better life but often delivered something drastically different, and when immigrant strength and female friendship found ways to triumph even on the darkest days.


     Inspired by true events and for fans of Kristina McMorris and Hazel Gaynor, The Next Ship Home holds up a mirror to our own times, deftly questioning America's history of prejudice and exclusion while also reminding us of our citizens' singular determination.


     My Review: The Next Ship Home tells the story of Ellis Island. Alma comes from a family of German immigrants. She is a linguist who gets a job working on Ellis Island. On her job, she meets Francesca, an immigrant who fled to America to escape her abusive father. Both Alma and Francesca want to make a better life for themselves. Can these women make their dreams come true despite the obstacles that lie in their path?


     Francesca and Alma had potential. However, I found them to be very bland. I could not connect with their characters. They seem to be very beautiful and flawless. They are not complex and are stereotypical. The only downfall they have is that they come from abusive households. Both of them didn’t really seem to grow as characters. The only one who had more development was Francesca because she grows from a naïve woman full of dreams into a mature wise woman who is willing to fight for dreams. However, she comes across as mostly passive throughout the novel. Alma is the stereotypical outcast who doesn’t conform to society. She doesn’t grow from beginning to end. Their friendship also seems forced. Because they are not developed, II did not feel any emotion towards the hardships they were going through. Therefore, these characters had potential but remained passive and flat.


      Overall, this novel is about dreams, hardships, and friendship. Ellis Island has always been seen as the promise of hope and freedom for Americans. However, in The Next Ship Home, this novel shows us the dark side of Ellis Island and the hardships immigrants faced in America. There is a lot of corruption on Ellis Island and it was not easy to get through the barriers and get off of Ellis Island. There were many ways an immigrant could be turned away. This novel also shows the racism and hardships that first-generation immigrants face once they settle into America. Therefore, it was an interesting look that shows the hardships of immigrants trying to get into America as well as those that are already in America. The downsides of this novel are the flat characters, the undeveloped romances, and a thin plot that was very drawn out. Still, The Next Ship Home is very meticulously researched and filled with lush descriptions. The setting is the book’s best feature. I recommend this for fans of Ellis Island, A Fall of Marigolds, and Grace’s Pictures! The Next Ship Homes is a fitting tribute to the many obstacles that immigrants have faced in coming to America. 


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Before the Alamo by Florence Byham Weinberg: A Book Review

  Before the Alamo Author: Florence Byham Weinberg Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Maywood House Release Date: 2021 Pages: 299 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Emilia Altamirano, Tejana, half Native American, half Spanish, is the daughter of a Royalist officer who fought against Mexico's independence in the Battle of the Medina River. Growing up in Bexar de San Antonio, she becomes literate, is adopted as a ward of José Antonio Navarro, and acts as a page in the Ayuntamiento (City Council). She serves as a nurse in the Battle of the Alamo but survives to face an uncertain future.            My Review: Before the Alamo chronicles the events prior to the Battle of the Alamo from a tejana’s perspective, a Texan woman of Spanish descent. Emilia is the daughter of a wealthy Spaniard and a Native American slave. She becomes a ward to Jose Antonio Navarro, a Texas war hero. Jose teaches Emilia to read and write. Under his tutelage, she becomes

The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World by Shelley Puhak: A Book Review

  The Dark Queens: The Bloody Rivalry that Forged the Medieval World Author: Shelley Puhak Genre: Nonfiction, History, Biography Publisher: Bloomsbury Release Date: February 22, 2022 Pages: 378 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: The remarkable, little-known story of two trailblazing women in the Early Middle Ages who wielded immense power, only to be vilified for daring to rule.      Brunhild was a foreign princess, raised to be married off for the sake of alliance-building. Her sister-in-law Fredegund started out as a lowly palace slave. And yet-in sixth-century Merovingian France, where women were excluded from noble succession and royal politics was a blood sport-these two iron-willed strategists reigned over vast realms, changing the face of Europe.      The two queens commanded armies and negotiated with kings and popes. They formed coalitions and broke them, mothered children and lost them. They fought a decades-long civil war-against each ot