Skip to main content

Rebel Rose (The Queen's Council #1) by Emma Theriault: A Book Review

Rebel Rose (The Queen’s Council #1)

Author: Emma Theriault

Genre: YA Historical Fiction, Fantasy

Publisher: Disney Hyperion

Release Date: 2020

Pages: 348

Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis: Happily ever after is only the beginning in this epic YA reimagining of the princesses as young rulers of their lands, aided by a mystical group of women called the Queen's Council, whose job it is to advise queens throughout history.  


     My Review: Rebel Rose is the sequel to Beauty and the Beast during the French Revolution. Belle is married to the Prince of Aveyon, a principality of France. When the French Revolution starts, the kingdom of Aveyon decides to break away from France and form its own kingdom. However, Belle does not want to be queen. Through a series of events, Belle realizes that accepting the queenship is the best gift for the newly formed kingdom.


The story takes place shortly after Belle marries the Beast. While Belle is happy marrying for love, she does not want to be a princess and refuses to have a title. She believes that being a princess and a queen will prevent her from having the freedom she has always dreamed. Throughout the novel, Belle slowly warms to the idea of being queen and to accept the responsibility of the title. In this book, Belle spends most of the novel being unsure of herself. It is only through the help of others that she is able to gain confidence and self-esteem.


Overall, this novel is about confidence, friendship, and responsibility. The message of the story is to believe in yourself. There are a few characters that I liked. However, the rest of the characters are stereotypical and have little depth. The story itself was very slow moving. The plot is thin and seems drawn out. Most of the action happens in the last pages. I also found it a bit odd that the reason why the witch turned the prince into a beast is not because of his selfishness and that he needed to learn a lesson, but solely to make Belle to enter his life and make her his queen. Still, I like the historical aspects of the novel and the rise of Belle becoming queen. This book is perfect for those who want to learn what happens after the ever after in Disney’s Beauty and the Beast! I recommend this for fans of As Old As Time, Belle, and The Merchant’s Daughter!


Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post by Allison Pataki: A Book Review

The Magnificent Lives of Marjorie Post Author: Allison Pataki Genre: Historical Fiction Publisher: Ballantine Release Date: February 15, 2022 Pages: 381 Source: Netgalley/Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: Mrs. Post, the President and First Lady are here to see you. . . . So begins another average evening for Marjorie Merriweather Post. Presidents have come and gone, but she has hosted them all. Growing up in the modest farmlands of Battle Creek, Michigan, Marjorie was inspired by a few simple rules: always think for yourself, never take success for granted, and work hard—even when deemed American royalty, even while covered in imperial diamonds. Marjorie had an insatiable drive to live and love and to give more than she got. From crawling through Moscow warehouses to rescue the Tsar’s treasures to outrunning the Nazis in London, from serving the homeless of the Great Depression to entertaining Roosevelts, Kennedys, and Hollywood’s biggest stars, Marjorie Merriweath

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem by Dave Tamanini: A Book Review

Tituba: The Intentional Witch of Salem Author: Dave Tamanini Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy Publisher: David F Tamanini Release Date: 2020 Pages: 317 Source: Publisher/Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Synopsis: If you love historical fiction... come revisit Salem's terror in this provocative new telling of enslaved Tituba, no longer a caricature, but a fully human woman with magical powers.      Come! Let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that explores the wild emotions driving accusations of witchcraft in 1692.      A Promise and a Hope      Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.      A Mother’s Agony      When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.      Witches Tear into Salem      The villagers see wi

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) by Lucinda Riley: A Book Review

The Seven Sisters (The Seven Sisters #1) Author: Lucinda Riley Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance Publisher: Atria Release Date: 2015 Pages: 463 Source: My State Public Library Synopsis: Maia D’Apliese and her five sisters gather together at their childhood home, “Atlantis”—a fabulous, secluded castle situated on the shores of Lake Geneva—having been told that their beloved father, who adopted them all as babies, has died. Each of them is handed a tantalizing clue to her true heritage—a clue which takes Maia across the world to a crumbling mansion in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Once there, she begins to put together the pieces of her story and its beginnings. Eighty years earlier in Rio’s Belle Epoque of the 1920s, Izabela Bonifacio’s father has aspirations for his daughter to marry into the aristocracy. Meanwhile, architect Heitor da Silva Costa is devising plans for an enormous statue, to be called Christ the Redeemer, and will soon travel to Paris to find the right sculptor to